Orange Juice Chicken & Kale Chips

Not all kitchen experiments are successful.

That’s not to say that I was fully unsuccessful, but I seriously phoned it in with the chicken recipe I tried to make up last night. My heart just wasn’t in it. I honestly didn’t feel like cooking at all. What I really wanted was homemade chicken soup (and I really should have made that instead), but I didn’t have all of the ingredients and I was even less inclined to make a trip to the supermarket.

In other words, laziness won out.

While the OJ chicken was only passable last night, however, I think I know what went wrong and I feel confident in posting this recipe with the changes I think the recipe needs.

Oh, by the way… my “heart not being in it” thing held strong through picture-taking. Sorry these pictures are so lackluster.

Orange Juice Chicken

makes 3 (smallish) servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 package chicken breasts (organic if you can!)
  • 1/2 cup 100% juice orange juice
  • 1 tsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • parmesan & romano to taste (optional)

Directions:

Clean and trim your chicken breasts.

In a bowl, combine orange juice, olive oil and garlic powder. Whisk and then pour into a large ziploc bag. Add cleaned and trimmed chicken breasts to the bag. Close the bag and shake to evenly distribute the chicken in the marinade.

Let the chicken marinate in the bag in the refrigerator for 20-30 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Spray a casserole dish with cooking spray.

Take the marinated chicken out of the ziploc and place in the greased casserole dish. Pour the rest of the marinade over the chicken.

Sprinkle the chicken with salt & pepper.

Bake for 25-30 minutes, flipping the chicken breasts after 15 minutes. Five minutes before taking the chicken out of the oven, sprinkle the breasts with parmesan and romano.

Done this way (rather than skipping the whole marinating process and simply pouring orange juice and sprinkling a little bit of garlic powder over the chicken breasts in the dish, as I did), I think this recipe would be great. Someone try it and let me know!

On the side, I made Kale Chips for the first time. I’ve seen these all over the blog world and decided it was finally time for me to try them. I liked them, but I didn’t dry them well enough (I don’t have a salad spinner, so I just used paper towels…) and some of them were still soggy.

Don’t get me wrong, though. I still ate them.

Like I’d not eat something green and sprinkled with cheese. Please.

Kale Chips

I don’t know what the actual serving size would be here, but this is definitely two servings in the KWH world.

Ingredients:

  • 1 bunch of kale
  • 1 tbs olive oil
  • grated parmesan & romano to taste
  • salt to taste

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Rinse the kale. Spin in a salad spinner and dry completely (this is important!).

Break the leaves off the kale stalks into chip-sized pieces.

Spread the kale leaves out on a baking tray and drizzle with olive oil. Sprinkle with salt and parmesan & romano.

Bake for 15-17 minutes or until the edges of the leaves are browned.

My plate last night:

See you later, alligators!

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

2 responses to “Orange Juice Chicken & Kale Chips

  1. Claire

    Not to sound like a fool, but what the heck is Kale? What does it taste like? Not lettuce, we know you are not a fan.

    Maybe you could do a post on some fruits / veggies / products that us newbies to the food blog world may not have seen before?

    For a ‘lame’ dinner – that looks pretty yummy. Thanks for all the wisdom.

    • Ok… don’t let this scare you away! Kale is a form of cabbage. It’s a little bit bitter, but I really liked it roasted. The main reason I’m such a big fan of kale is that it boasts so much nutritional value. It’s high in vitamin C, vitamin K, beta carotene, and calcium. It’s also high in antioxidants and is considered a “cancer-fighting” superfood.

      One more note – it smells bad, but it tastes good! Give it a chance. :)

Leave a Reply

