Water!

I woke up this morning, after a night of imbibing in more food and more beer than any one person needs, and I headed to the gym. Within 30 minutes, I had finished my water bottle. By the end of my time at the gym, I had refilled and finished that bottle twice more. I never need to refill at all! That should say something.

Admittedly, this morning’s workout was also crazy. Our boot camp instructor had taken a CrossFit workshop over the weekend and decided to implement the concept into our class this morning. Essentially, for 45 minutes straight, we traded off between 3 minutes of really high intensity workouts and 90-second “breaks” (during which I jogged in place). It was intense... and I loved it! I don’t know if it sounds intense in writing, but believe me when I say that the high-intensity stuff is really tough and non-stop. This really works for me because I love a tough workout. I think I would have liked it even more if I had not been drinking last night. ;)

By the end of that class, I was pretty wiped (and totally sweaty and gross), but I had 10K training to do and I’m not one to skip a training session (unless I’m sick or likely to hurt myself, of course). I headed over to a treadmill and hopped on to do a two mile run. I followed that with 15 minutes on the elliptical and finally headed home.

Stretching felt really good today!

So did eating my breakfast. I finally got a tub yesterday of my new favorite (and not at all intolerance-affecting) protein powder, Jay Robb’s Vanilla Whey Protein Powder and my use of it in this morning’s smoothie made me a very happy camper.

Banilla Smoothie in a Bowl

Into the mix went:

  • 3 ice cubes
  • big handful fresh baby spinach
  • 1/2 scoop Jay Robb’s Vanilla Whey Protein Powder
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/8 cup nonfat plain greek yogurt

On top:

  • drizzle (~ 1 tbs) coconut butter
  • handful Cinnamon Puffins

Happiness in a bowl, friends.

Lunch, because I am trying to use up refrigerated items before I travel (!!!), was my go-to sandwich. I’m going to map it out like a recipe because it’s so oft-returned to that I want to give the sandwich its own recipe link.

Vegetarian Sandwich

Ingredients:

  • 2 pieces Ezekiel Bread
  • ~ 2 tbs hummus
  • 1 piece low fat cheddar cheese
  • 4 thick cucumber slices

Directions:

Spread the hummus on one piece of bread, top with cucumber slices and add cheddar over everything. Close the sandwich with the other piece of bread and broil in a toaster oven for a few minutes or until cheese is melted.

This can also be made open-faced with eight slices of cucumber and either two pieces of cheese or one, halved. You can find an example here, should you need the visual.

I served the sandwich with some bell pepper strips and the meager remains of my sugar snap peas.

Of course, I ended lunch with a piece of fruit. Today’s was a white nectarine from the Farmer’s Market.

And lots more water. Still can’t get enough. Whoops.

10K Training Day Eight (Week Two)

5 minutes elliptical

45 minutes (Crossfit-inspired) boot camp

24 minutes running on treadmill @ 5.0 + 1 minute cool down @ 4.0

15 minutes elliptical (10 min high intensity + 5 min cool down)

I’m really quite sore today. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t a little nervous about my ability to work out tomorrow morning. My quads are aching.

3 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

3 responses to “Water!

  1. killer workout!

    your lunch looks delicious. i love a good cucumber sandwich!

  2. Love the little cereal puffs on top of smoothie in a bowl! And sandwich looks delicious!

  3. Will

    That looks like the most delicious vegetarian sandwich I have ever seen.

Leave a Reply

