One of Those Mornings

It’s been one of those mornings.

I knew it was off to a rocky start when I woke up literally two minutes before my alarm, felt like I was awake for the day but would just lie there for two minutes, and then fell back asleep only to wake up and feel as though I’d been hit by a truck.

How is that even possible?

Also, I must have had a dream that I was in a fight with someone, because I spent a good deal of the morning having the unsettled feeling like someone was mad at me. I hate that.

Throughout my workout this morning, I also battled a headache. Why? Because I had a glass of red wine last night.

I know red wine gives me headaches. Why did I have a glass anyway? I mean, really.

It’s okay, though, because said wine was paired with a dinner that was made for me. When I came home last night, I found that Mark had made us a frittata.

Best. Roommate. Ever. Even though he finishes the eggs sometimes.

There is honestly nothing better than coming home from a day of work to find a healthy and delicious dinner already made. Seriously, that is my idea of a perfect night.

What can I say? I’m easy.

The frittata was, as usual with Mark, an original recipe. All I know is that it had goat gouda, mushrooms, green beans, and spinach. And that I want more.

I served myself a piece…

…and then went back for more. It was so good.

Anyway, back to my morning.

So, I finished my workout (boot camp + the elliptical, by the way) and went home with visions of baked oatmeal in my head. Yearning for cinnamon and maple, I rushed through my foam rolling and hurried to get ready for work.

I also had three errands to run before work, so I really had to get moving.

Unfortunately, I managed to spend about 20 minutes deciding what to wear because I was having one of those mornings where nothing felt right.

I am such a girl.

Anyway, suffice it to say that I ran out of time for baked oatmeal. It’s okay, though, Chobani and Vitatop saved the day!

Into the mix went:

  • Vanilla 0% Chobani
  • Deep Chocolate Vitatop
  • blueberries
  • 1/3 banana, sliced
  • coconut (maybe 1 tbs?)
  • 1 tsp White Chocolate Dreams PB

It was no cinnamon and maple-infused baked oatmeal, but it did its job. I was still a happy camper.

And then I was off! A little later than I wanted, sure, but I was sure I could manage to complete all three errands if I was efficient.

Halfway through errand #1, I realized I’d forgotten my phone at home.

I kind-of-sort-of-really can’t live without my phone.

It’s a problem.

So, I rushed back home, (obviously) didn’t manage to complete my other two errands, and then had to rush to work, to which I was late. Being late always throws me. I’m a show-up-early kind of girl.

I’ve been a little frazzled since arriving at work, but I’m slowly settling in.

What I’m really sad about is that one of my missed errands was to pick up some Kombucha (an expensive little habit I’ve formed), and now I don’t have one for today. Boo.

Last (work)week, I managed to go through almost one a day…

I loved them all, but the Gingerberry (the picture with the weird coloring) was my favorite.

I think I have a problem.

How have your mornings been? Anybody have a morning like mine?

15 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

15 responses to “One of Those Mornings

  1. Aw, I’m sorry to hear your morning sucked :( Maybe you’ll get home and dinner will be made again! That’s my fantasy… unfortunately, no matter what time I get home, my sister is always begging me to make her dinner. I wouldn’t mind having it made for me once in a while, especially if it was that frittata!

    I hope the rest of your day is better :)

  2. Having one of those days where nothing feels right clothing-wise is the WORST! It truly turns me into an unruly preteen faster than anything. I hope your day gets better from here!

  3. Does does NOT sound like a good morning! Sorry! I would run back for the phone though too! I feel kinda of NAKED without it;) Hope the rest of your day is better!

  4. haha OMG I totes thought you were sharing that you had a glass of wine in between workout and work this morning.

    Perhaps you’d be feeling a bit better today, were that the case?
    ;)

  5. I always seem to wake up right before my alarm clock! It’s weird…like my body knows. The worst is when you wake up 15 minutes before (or in your case, 2) which is just enough time to fall back asleep and make getting up even worse! As long as I have coffee in the house, I’m usually ok though :)

  6. Jen

    I hate that unsettled feeling and then having the rest of the day thrown off…ugh! Hopefully today is better for you :)

  7. ouch, sorry about the morning! i’m having one today but i woke up at like ,1.30 in the morning, wide awake, and didn’t fall back asleep until almost 4…and get up at 6. erg.

    and now i don’t feel like eating. that’s never a good things before a field day.1

  8. My frittatas never ever turn out right! Can Mark share some of his tips? Pretty please, because that dish looks mad delicious! :)

    Sorry to hear about the stressful morning – and yes, I have those kind of mornings all too often as a one car family.

Leave a Reply

