Veggie Frittata

Heyyy youuu guys!

I made frittata!

But, in case you can’t tell, I burned my frittata. Badly.

Don’t worry about it.

Other than that, though, it was pretty good.

In my endeavor to successfully and actually (AKA no modifications) follow the South Beach Diet (which, yes, I started yesterday), I made frittata for breakfasts throughout the week. Because lord knows I don’t have time to make omelets in the morning.

Anyway, this frittata is pretty good, keeps well in tupperware, heats up evenly in the microwave, and is totally transportable. I’d know. I brought it to work this morning.

Most importantly, it’s helping me stick to my diet and it’s a good option for breakfast, even for a girl that is addicted to fond of yogurt bowls.

Veggie Frittata

makes 4 servings

Ingredients

  • 6 eggs
  • salt & pepper
  • 1/3 cup grated parmesan & romano
  • 1/2 tbs EVOO
  • 1/4 cup diced onions
  • 1 cup chopped broccoli
  • 1/2 cup chopped mushrooms
  • handful mini tomatoes, halved
Directions
Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees.
Grease a cast-iron skillet or an oven-safe frying pan.

In a medium bowl, whisk the eggs, cheese, salt & pepper.

Heat the EVOO in a large skillet. Add onions and saute, allowing them to brown slightly. Add broccoli and mushrooms and saute for a few minutes — just enough to soften.

Toss the sauteed veggies into the cast-iron skillet (or oven-safe frying pan). Allow to cool for a few minutes. Pour in egg mixture and stir. Top with tomato halves.

Bake in oven for 20 minutes, then set oven to broil and let cook for three minutes.

… And then actually take it out after three minutes, rather than about ten, like I did.

The inside, at least, wasn’t burned to a crisp.

 


Now, go make some healthy frittata! But don’t burn it. :)

Updates…

Rehab Day 5

Swimming: 30 laps in 30 minutes

Rehab Day 6

Biking at level 1 for 40 minutes

Not so sure about the biking. My knee hurt directly afterward (so I iced) and my sciatica has been bugging me more today than it has recently. I think exercising while sitting may not be in the cards for me.

5 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

5 responses to “Veggie Frittata

  1. I think biking is killing my knee! My dad was trying to explain to me about the way my leg moves depending on the height of the seat, but to be honest, I have no idea what he was talking about :)

  2. well, it’s burnt but it looks good anyway. i love cast iron skillet meals!

  3. sweet rehab work outs :) haha and I loveeeee burnt food so that is right up my ally…weird? yes. haha

  4. Pingback: Frittata Number Two | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

