Candy Corn Cookies

You may remember that I posted about making Candy Corn Cookies the other day.

Yes, those Candy Corn Cookies.

I made them for the LA Galaxy Game because, even though it was definitely implied that I was only expected to buy cookies, I like to bake my way into peoples’ hearts.

I also made them because I bought candy corn on a whim the other day and needed to use it up so I wouldn’t eat it by the handful (candy corn is so addicting).

I also made them because I’ve been craving oatmeal chocolate chip cookies like whoa.

Finally, I also made them because I decided it was high time for a Halloween-themed cookie recipe. Holiday recipes are the best, don’t you think?

Obviously, I combined all of these elements for this recipe.

And, if I do say so myself, this recipe is a keeper.

Candy Corn Cookies

makes 2 dozen cookies

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups oats
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 3/4 cup butter (at room temperature)
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup candy corn
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Sift together flour, oats, salt, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves. Set aside.

In a separate bowl, use an electric mixer to combine brown sugar, white sugar, butter, eggs and vanilla.

Use a spoon to stir dry mixture into wet mixture.

Stir in candy corn and chocolate chips.

Spoon rounded tablespoons of dough onto greased cookie sheets.

Bake for 14-16 minutes or until golden brown.

These cookies were a pretty big hit with everyone, so I think I can call them a winner. They were chewy and packed with flavor — everything I think a cookie should be.

Happy Fall! Serve these for Halloween and make friends. :)

I created this post as part of Frigidaire’s Talk Turkey Campaign. Share your own recipes and tips at Frigidaire’s Make Time for Change site. For every recipe or tip that’s shared, Frigidaire will donate $1 to Save The Children’s U.S. Programs, which creates lasting change for children in need.

11 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

11 responses to “Candy Corn Cookies

  1. I’m not really a candy corn fan, but I think in cookies I just might be… yum!

  2. Rachel

    mmm genius idea combining the oats with the candy corn! i think they’d totally balance each other out. i love candy corn- i have to buy it in the little tubes or i’d actually devour the whole bag in one sitting.

  3. This is awesome. I am totally saving this!

  4. love! i will be making that!

  5. Not too many people really like candy corn, but I am one of them, so I have got to do this! Can’t wait to try them!

    http://www.jennniferscreams.com

  6. Claire

    I LOVE candy corn, so I made a double batch and brought them into the office today. They were DEVOURED. Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

