And So It Begins…

Well! Let’s jump right in, shall we?

After either twisting or lightly spraining my ankle while playing tennis last week, I was dying to get back to the gym this morning. I definitely didn’t realize how much I depend on the endorphins and energy that I get from my morning workouts until I found myself struggling to get through my work days last week.

I probably shouldn’t have gone back this morning, as my ankle has now swelled up some (when it wasn’t swollen before), so I’m not sure I’m going to go back tomorrow. This is totally difficult for me, but I’m trying not to injure myself even more. I have a 5K coming up on Sunday and I haven’t decided yet if I’m going to be able to (read: let myself) do it. My stubbornness may win out on this one! I’d hate to not achieve a goal. I’d also hate to throw away the money I spent on registration.

At the gym, I took the 45-minute Boot Camp class (which I take every Monday, Wednesday and Friday) and followed it with 45 minutes on the elliptical. Out of concern for my ankle, I only gave my workout about 60%… but I figured 60% was better than nothing.

I came back home to a blogger-favorite breakfast: overnight oats!

(Please excuse the blurry pictures this week. My camera is about to die and I’ve lost the battery charger, so I’m rushing pictures until my new charger comes in. I’m pretty sure I’m going to have to resort to my iPhone for pictures over the next few days.)

I’m sure if you’re an avid food and fitness blog reader, you’re more than aware of the basic recipe. Here’s my go-to version.

Overnight Oats

makes 1 serving

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/4 cup nonfat greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 tbs ground flaxseed (I use the Trader Joes version with blueberry)
  • 1/2 packet stevia
  • dash cinnamon

Directions:

Mix it all together and place it in the fridge overnight. Voila! You’re done.

I topped it with some of my homemade toasted nut granola (I’ll post that recipe soon) and about 1/3 cup each of chopped strawberries and blueberries. Delicious. I never get sick of this breakfast. You’ll be hearing about it a lot… I probably won’t post a picture every time because, well, who wants to see the same thing every day?

The morning at work was busy. I ate a 1/2 banana for snack and then lunch came around before I knew it. I had a salad with field greens, chickpeas, carrots, celery, red and yellow bell peppers, a sprinkle of feta, and about one tablespoon of Annie’s Tuscany Italian dressing. Dessert was a delicious peach.

That 1/2 sandwich you see there is one piece of Ezekiel with one piece of Trader Joes (can you tell I love TJ’s?) light cheddar, some baby spinach, and a smear of cherry fruit spread. I use Sorrell Ridge Premium, which has no added sugar.

The 1/2 sandwich made for a perfect, filling snack around 4:30 pm (when hunger always strikes me!).

Dinner was a version of something my wonderful friend Lauren and I came up with during a girls night last week. This time, however, I didn’t consume 3 glasses any wine.

Rice Medley Salad

makes 2 servings

  • 2/3 cup Trader Joes Basmati Rice Medley
  • 2/3 -3/4 cup white (cannellini) beans
  • 2/3- 3/4 cup chopped cucumber
  • 1/3 cup chopped red bell pepper
  • 1/3 cup chopped yellow bell pepper
  • 1/2 tbs olive oil
  • 1/2 lemon (squeezed juice – I actually might have preferred less of this)
  • garlic salt or other seasoning to taste

Directions:

Follow the directions on the rice, then add all of the other ingredients. Mix together and serve! This is nice both warm and cold. Also, I forgot to get a lemon, so I used lime. It worked pretty nicely, but I did prefer the lemon.

I ate some mango for dessert. I use Trader Joes Frozen Mango Chunks… and I eat them frozen. It’s almost like having ice cream.

And that’s all for day one!

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

2 responses to “And So It Begins…

  1. Andrea

    Looks so yummy. I’m making that rice salad tomorrow.

  2. Pingback: Oats & Yogurt, Yogurt & Oats | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

