Fiber Be Damned

Honestly, there’s nothing like a good fruit-filled bowl of Overnight Oats to put me in a good mood. Same ingredients as Monday and just as delicious.

I was pretty hungry by 12:30 but didn’t feel like lunch yet, so I snacked on the apple I’d brought along. It was a Pink Lady from (you guessed it) Trader Joes, and it was – I swear – one of the best apples I’ve ever had.

Perfection. It was juicy and sweet but still tart, and not at all mushy (I will throw a mushy apple away after one bite, and I hate throwing food away). I actually remember the very first Pink Lady apple I ever ate. It was in, of all places, Florence, Italy, and I got it from a food cart on the side of a street. It was the biggest apple I’d ever seen – quite literally the size of two fists – and five years later I maintain that I will never again eat another apple that delicious. Today’s apple came pretty close! I’m going to have to make an emergency stop at TJ’s to replenish my apple stock.

Let’s be honest, though. I’ll make any excuse to go to Trader Joe’s.

I had lunch about an hour later (fiber be damned, I swear apples just make me hungrier). It was pretty much an altered version of Monday’s lunch… but this salad was sans lettuce. I just wasn’t in the mood.

Into the mix went:

  • about 2/3 cup chickpeas
  • about 2/3 cup chopped cucumber
  • about 1/4 cup red bell pepper and about 1/4 cup yellow bell pepper
  • 6 cherry tomatoes, sliced in half
  • a sprinkle of feta cheese (maybe 2 tsp?)
  • about 1 tbs Goddess dressing (TJ’s version – not sure yet if I’m a fan)

It was pretty good but it needed something else. It may have been as simple as just needing a little salt and pepper.

I ate a plum about… oh, ten minutes after lunch. Just because I don’t eat refined sugar, it doesn’t mean I lost my sweet tooth. The plum looked and smelled better than it tasted. It was definitely not the best plum I’ve ever had.

I’m looking forward to having a working camera again. This is getting embarrassing.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog Posts

Leave a Reply

