A Night In

After a busy week and a busy day today, I cannot tell you how much I was looking forward to a night in.

Once I got home from my many errands, I snacked on carrot sticks with some edamame hummus.

Like the new placemats? I’m kind of excited about them.

For dinner, I made the meal I had been planning on making last night.

White Bean Italian Stir Fry

I sauteed a sliced up zucchini, added a big handful of spinach until wilted, added about a cup of white beans and topped it all in 1/2 cup tomato sauce (no sugar!) and about 2 tsp grated parmesan and romano.

It was very filling.

Finally, I got to my baking project of the day. I’ve been pretty excited to get to this because I think the recipes I alter to become sugar-free are will be one of the most helpful parts of this bog.

I used the recipe for Oatmeal Blueberry Applesauce Muffins from Joy the Baker as a guide, but I altered them a fair amount.

These muffins are barely sweet, so healthy and excellent with a little bit of Earth Balance.

Blueberry, Honey & Oatmeal Muffins

makes about 15 muffins

  • 1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/4 oats
  • 1 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 cup unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/3 cup honey (you could use up to 1/2 cup if you’d like them sweeter)
  • 2 tbs canola oil
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tbs coconut butter, slightly warmed
  • 1 cup blueberries

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Spray a muffin pan (I use Pam).

Combine all dry ingredients in a large bowl.

Combine all wet ingredients in a separate bowl. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and fold together. Be careful not to not over-mix. Fold in blueberries.

Fill muffin cups about 3/4 full.

Bake for 15-17 minutes (remember – honey browns faster than sugar).

Updated 8/3/10: I’ve submitted this to Simply Sugar and Gluten Free‘s Simply Indulgent Tuesdays. Check it out to see some other great recipes!

7 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

7 responses to “A Night In

  1. These muffins look great! I’m going to have to try some!

  2. Thanks, onelonleymom! Let me know how it goes. 🙂

  3. Jenni

    I told Brian I wanted to make those muffins. . . hopefully i won’t burn them. . . that seems to be a problem I have.

  4. When it comes to cooking with honey, be careful! Honey browns faster than sugar does, so you will want to watch the muffins for burning. 🙂 Good luck! You’ll do fabulously, I’m sure.

  5. Alethea

    Thanks for the recipe! I want to bake tomorrow with my fresh blueberries & was just thinking about how I would modify that one to avoid the sugar!

  6. Alethea, let me know how it goes! Do you have a sugar intolerance as well, or are you just watching your sugar intake?

    • Alethea

      They came out awesome! I ate two! I love bodybuilding and so I choose not to eat sugar. I don’t like how I feel after I eat a bunch of sugar so why eat it? With recipes like this who needs it! Can’t wait to check out more of your site when I have time.

Leave a Reply

