Pizza Can Be Healthy

I definitely had plans for a dinner that I was going to make at home last night, but once I decided I was in the mood for pizza, there was no turning back – especially after the safe but admittedly lame lunch I had.

Lauren and I made a post-work trip to the supermarket to pick up some supplies. It took us a little while to find a pizza dough without sugar, but eventually we found one in mix form by the tomato sauces (also a challenge to find sugar-free, by the way). The dough we found was Betty Crocker’s Pizza Crust and the sauce we ended up using was Classico’s Tomato Basil.

I had my doubts about the crust (I mean, powder to which you just add water?), but it ended up being pretty good for what it was. Still, though, I’d definitely go with Trader Joes’ fresh whole wheat pizza dough instead, if given the choice. Plus, this dough didn’t yield much. The sauce, though, was great for pizza. I definitely recommend it, especially for those of you on a budget like me.

Here’s the dough laid out with the sauce:

And a blurry shot of it loaded with all of our veggies and cheese (red peppers, grape tomatoes, cremini mushrooms, spinach, part-skim mozzarella and a sprinkling of parmesan):

Fresh out of the oven…

My plate (x2):

Make no mistake. We polished that whole thing off. That, and one (okay, two) of these:

The perfect end to the work week.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog Posts

Leave a Reply

