The Fitness Side of Things

I will not go to the gym tomorrow.

I will not go to the gym tomorrow.

I will not go to the gym tomorrow.

Ever since I made working out daily part of my routine, I have never had to “convince” myself to work out. I look forward to working out. It’s my favorite part of every day. I feel I depend upon my workouts for the energy, the endorphins, the structure, and the results. If I don’t work out, I feel it all day.

…Which is why this sprained ankle just may be the death of me. I’ve gone to the gym every day this week even though I told myself I would stop going. I started bargaining with myself. While I did stop going to Boot Camp, I didn’t stop my strength training classes or doing cardio. I wish I was kidding.

So, to recap:

Monday: 45 min Boot Camp, 45 min elliptical

Tuesday: 45 min Strength Training, 45 min elliptical

Wednesday: 65 min elliptical, 35 min bicycle

Thursday: 45 min Strength Training, 35 min elliptical (See? I stopped when it hurt, at least. Usually on Tuesdays and Thursdays I’ll do 70 min on the elliptical)

Friday: 65 min elliptical, 35 min bicycle

This was a pretty light week for me. I can feel it and I dislike it, but pushing myself harder was not going to be a good idea. The truth is, I am never going to heal if I don’t stop going. So. I am not going to the gym tomorrow. And I am not going on Sunday. And I am not going on Monday.

And then we will see how I’m feeling.

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

2 responses to “The Fitness Side of Things

  1. Tara

    You can do it Kaity Lynne! I have faith in your willpower!! What if you just did upper body stuff while you’re sprained? You can do sit-ups and free weights, then you can feel like you’re working without sacrificing your gym time 🙂 also, ps I love your blog. I drop whatever I’m doing to read it when it pops in my inbox 🙂 ❤

  2. Thanks, Tara! It’s support from you guys that makes this so much fun. 🙂

Leave a Reply

