Broken Computer = Unhappy Kaitlin

Oh, man. You so do not realize what you’ve got until it’s gone. Unfortunately, my computer is temporarily (hopefully) out of commission. Until it’s back in working order, I’ll only be updating from work. Let’s get to it. There’s a lot to catch up on.

I like to start fresh the day after any event during which I’ve overindulged (since it gets me right back on track without any further hiccups). That usually means starting with eggs and yesterday was no exception. I scrambled up two eggs (I really believe in using the yolks, since that’s where all the nutrients are. You’ll almost never see me use egg whites alone.) with a little shredded lowfat cheddar, salt and pepper. On the side I had one of the Blueberry, Honey & Oatmeal Muffins with a little Earth Balance.

I miss having ketchup on my eggs. I really need to find a sugar-free alternative. If anyone knows of anything, I am open for suggestions!

After breakfast, I headed out to visit my friends Eric and Lindsey to meet their newborn little girl, Boston.

(Photos courtesy of Eric.)

Is she not the most precious little girl you’ve ever seen? She’s with her wonderful mom, Lindsey, in that second photo.

Here’s one I’m shamelessly stealing from facebook, as I think it might be my favorite picture ever taken of a baby.

(Photo also courtesy of Eric).

That is one chill little girl.

Anyway, the day started to go downhill after that. I arrived home to discover my out-of-commission computer, which was pretty stressful. I didn’t feel like putting together much of a lunch at that point, so I threw together a frozen veggie burger (which I didn’t even cook all the way through), the second (and last) of the pretzel rolls, a slice of tomato and some mustard. I had an unpictured apple on the side. It wasn’t a great lunch, but it did its job.

Mamito and I dealt with our individual stresses of the day together by watching The Proposal, finishing it, and then… watching it all over again. There’s just something about that movie.

That something might be Ryan Reynolds.

Anyway, it was during the second viewing of that movie that I made my dinner, which included a far more successful attempt at making the mushroom burgers. They definitely need to be fried (in a healthy way, on a pan and with Pam!). Here’s the recipe:

Mushroom Burgers

makes 3 burgers

  • 1/2 tbs olive oil
  • ~ 3 1/2 cups chopped mushrooms (I used a combination of portobello and white)
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped white onion
  • 1/4- 1/2 (to your taste) garlic powder
  • 1 piece Ezekiel, crumbled into bread crumbs (or 1/3 cup breadcrumbs – read my note below)
  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan & romano
  • 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1 egg

Directions:

Combine the mushrooms, onion and garlic in a bowl and mix together.

Warm the olive oil in a saucepan and sautee the mushroom mixture until the mushrooms and onions have browned slightly (about 3-5 minutes).

Crumble (or, though I didn’t think of it at the time, throw into a food processor) a toasted piece of Ezekiel bread until it resembles breadcrumbs. (If you are not avoiding sugar, breadcrumbs are probably a better option here).

Mix together oats, breadcrumbs, parmesan & romano, oregano, salt, pepper, and your egg (make sure it’s thoroughly beaten in the mixture). Add mushroom mixture and let sit for 15 minutes to allow the flavors to settle. Shape into patties.

Pan-fry the patties in cooking spray until browned and formed. They may lose their form somewhat, but it should keep for the most part.

On the side there, I just have some grilled veggies. They’re very simple – I just cut some zucchini, squash and bell peppers lengthwise, brushed them with a little olive oil, salt & pepper and grilled them for a few minutes on each side.

It’s a healthy and delicious side dish in just minutes.

Dessert, since I nearly always have one, was a half mug-full of cherries.

With that, I called it a night. Today is a new day! Thank goodness for that.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

Leave a Reply

