Assumptions

So, today started off on kind of a sour note. At the end of my strength training class, another woman from the class immediately came up to me. She told me she has noticed that I work really hard and that she knows of a book she thinks I would really appreciate. Essentially, the book is about weight and finding the right way of eating for one’s body.

Look – I appreciate that she was looking out for me. I even kind of get it. I’ve thought about the fact that the people from the gym who see me work incredibly hard for two hours per day for at least five days of the week must be kind of confused as to why a fitness junkie like myself isn’t absolutely tiny. I also have to admit, though, that I find it entirely frustrating when people just assume that I eat unhealthily or have other unhealthy habits simply because I’m not teensy tiny. I’m fit. If you don’t believe me, check out my muscles. I’m sorry I’m not smaller, but there’s not a whole lot I can do about that anymore. I mean, you all see what I eat. And frankly, I’m happy and comfortable where I am.

This is hardly the first time this has happened. Just last week, someone came up to me while I was eating fruit with greek yogurt for snack and commented by saying, “Oh! How healthy! Good for you!” You know, as if I’m finally dieting and taking control of my life. Please. Been there, done that.

Anyway, the rant can end there. I think you all get what I’m saying. Back to the normal musings!

Like I said, I took my regular 45-minute strength training class this morning. This was interesting, given that my inner thighs are still aching as a result of Tuesday’s class (TMI?). I followed the strength training with 70 minutes on the elliptical. I’m getting more than a little bored of this machine, but it’s one of the only ones on which I feel safe with my ankle right now. I am so, so, so looking forward to returning to boot camp.

Afterward, it was SIAB time! I tried something a little different this morning. I was craving CHOCOLATE!

Into the mix went…

  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • blob nonfat greek yogurt
  • big handful spinach
  • ~ 2/3 cup fresh strawberries (!!)
  • 2 heaping spoonfuls vanilla hemp protein powder
  • 1 heaping spoonful unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 packet stevia

On top: melted coconut butter and a handful of cinnamon Puffins.

This was sooooo good. Trust me when I tell you that it was a thousand more times appetizing than it looks. It was rich, chocolaty and smooth. I think the best part was the fresh berries! I very rarely use fresh fruit in my smoothies and usually opt for frozen… but this morning’s SIAB may have changed things.

My only complaint is that I got hungry fairly soon afterward. I think next time I may have to up the protein or possibly add half a banana. Actually, now that I’m looking at the ingredients again, I realize I barely have any fat in there. That’s probably what the smoothie needed for better staying power.

I snacked on an apple before lunch (a good one this time!) and then got to lunch on the earlier side.

Lunch today was the other half of the squash mixture from last night plus some of the chicken that I grilled up the other day – all topped with parmesan, romano, S+P, of course!

Once reheated, it was positively delicious. Thank you, leftovers!

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

2 responses to “Assumptions

  1. Jamie

    That chick was probably just trying to hock something she or her kid/sibling/partner/whatever wrote. People are so annoying.

    I think the “good for you” comment re: eating something healthy is pretty standard though, I wouldn’t really get irked by that.

  2. Mark

    Aching inner thighs? Kaitlin, what kind of gym is this?

Leave a Reply

