Best Simple Dinner Ever

I had elaborate plans for dinner last night. I was going to make stuffed mushrooms. I had mapped out a recipe and everything. But, the truth is, eggs just started calling my name… and when something calls your name as loudly and persistently as these eggs did, you just kind of have to give in.

I’ll get to that in a bit, though. First I have to back up.

Snack yesterday was a banana with a huge spoonful of Trader Joes’ Almond Butter with Roasted Flaxseeds – a favorite of mine. I had a picture, but these pictures taken at my desk are embarrassing and ugly and I’ve decided to just not post them. I mean, really, who wants to look at ugly pictures of food?

I scooped out about a tablespoon and a half of AB to have with this banana. I normally wouldn’t have this much (and actually didn’t end up eating all of it anyway), but I’m trying to get close to finishing the jar so I can soon have either oats in a jar or overnight oats in a jar! Oh, the possibilities…

In other news, we had an earthquake in southern California yesterday evening. I’m pretty sure it was the biggest I’ve experienced since moving here. Anyway, it lasted, by my estimate, about 30 seconds  – and that’s a long amount of time for this east coast girl! I almost went under my desk when I looked up and realized that the ceiling light was swinging precariously over my head, but by that point the earthquake was subsiding.

Whew! I am not a fan of earthquakes and I feel like we’ve had a lot lately. Anyway, the important thing is that everybody seems to be okay.

Anyway, I managed to make it out alive after work to the supermarket to get supplies for a weekly treat to appear later today. More on that in a later post, though.

Now – back to my deliciously simple and completely necessary dinner. Like I said, I had been craving eggs all day, so I came home to make the simplest and most delicious egg-based dinner. I’m not kidding. I still can’t stop thinking about it, and it took all of ten minutes (tops). You may second-guess me, but I dare you to try it.

Overly Easy Eggs & Squash

I chopped these guys up:

(Side note: does anyone know what that squash in the middle is? I got it at the Farmer’s Market but don’t actually know the name of it.)

I threw the squash slices in a pan, fried them in cooking spray until browned, and simultaneously fried two eggs in cooking spray over-easy. I put about half of the squash on my plate and topped it with some parmesan and romano and some S+P, then laid the eggs on top (also topped with some S+P).

Glorious. I’m so not kidding. This simple dinner made. my. night.

I was craving a real dessert last night, so I decided to try some of Heather Eats Almond Butter‘s famous Protein Ice Cream. I’d tried this before and failed, so I wanted to make a second attempt. Still no dice, sadly. I don’t know what I’m doing wrong!

This is what I ended up with:

Despite the color (blame my green vanilla hemp protein powder), this was an attempt at vanilla protein ice cream. It’s topped with unsweetened carob chips, which I’m obsessed with even though I think there’s something in the ingredients that slightly affect my intolerance.

Anyway, I only really ended up eating about half of the bowl (as much as it took to eat up all of the carob chips!) and then admitted defeat. Whereas Heather‘s ice cream always seems to have some form, mine just ends up gloopy. I’m pretty sure I’m following her directions exactly, so I think my problem might be in the amount of ice (I use tray cubes) or the type of protein powder I use. Or, really, it might just be that I don’t have a VitaMix. All I know is that Heather‘s ice cream always looks amazing (check out her blog, seriously) and I want to figure out how she does it.

Oh, by the way, it turns out my blender isn’t completely broken. It just came a little bit apart, so I fixed it for now. We’ll see how long that lasts.

4 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

4 responses to “Best Simple Dinner Ever

  1. Jamie

    Those eggs look awesome – I seriously love anything with zucchini. My favorite quick side is to saute some in olive oil and throw in some garlic powder, S&P, and red pepper flakes.

    Have you ever heard of shakshuka? Might be my favorite thing in the whole world (at least it is when my mom makes it), and something to consider when the egg craving strikes again! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shakshuka

  2. Ohhhh my gosh, I will DEFINITELY be trying that. Watch out for it on the blog. It’s coming.

  3. So sorry that the ice-cream did not work out…again! I definitely think you need more ice, like twice as much if your blender can handle it.

    I love that TJ’s almond flaxseed butter too, and sometimes there is nothing like a simple dinner of eggs and veggies. CD and I do that often.

    Not sure what the squash in the middle is – looks like some kind of summer squash variety.

    Glad you survived the earthquake! I’ve never experienced one…and I kind of want to. I think I could easily calm myself down after wards with carob chips. 😉

  4. Heather, trust me when I say the novelty of an earthquake wears off the moment you’re frozen in fear or leaping for a doorway. I haven’t even experienced a damage-inducing one yet, and I hope I never have to (knock on wood!).

    I’ll be trying the ice cream again ASAP with your advice!

Leave a Reply

