The Great Cookie Experiment

I have plans to have a bit of a girls night with some of my friends. It promises to revolve somewhat around food… which means this girl needs to be prepared!

Fortunately, I had a bit of a heads up and was able to make some Kaitlin-safe cookies last night.

They look good, right?

You want one… right now?

You don’t. Really.

I know, I know. I teased you.

Unfortunately, they just weren’t the best cookies ever. This is the first attempt I’ve made at making cookies since I learned about my intolerance, so this will be a learning process.

These weren’t sweet enough. Basically, I started with what I can only presume is a great recipe, given that it came from the talented Mama Pea at Peas and Thank You (another one of my favorite blogs). But… I went and mucked it up by adapting the heck out of it.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I’m getting pretty good at changing recipes in order to suit my intolerance. This was a kitchen fail, though, and I figure it’s just as important to mess up as it is to succeed. The bright side is that I think I already know where I messed up.

I made a lot of changes, but the biggest (other than the sugar replacements) were removing raisins, adding carob chips and not upping the sweetness factor.

To be honest, these cookies are good enough for me. As I’ve said, my taste for sweet things is leaving me. I’m okay with the kind of tart aspect the carob chips give these cookies. I just don’t think the recipe is good enough (yet!) to share with you. I’ll get there. I promise!

Until then, feel free to drool over what you think these taste like. They’re much better that way.

You’ll see more of the Great Cookie Experiment!

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog Posts

Leave a Reply

