Girls Night In

I got my computer back! And, as far as I can tell, it’s as good as new. 😀

Some of my friends decided to host a “Girls Night In” last night, which was completely adorable and so much fun. We all got together to eat dinner, drink red wine, play games and chat.

Valerie, Mandy, Laura and Lindsey:

I had been warned that pizza would be served, so I stopped at Whole Foods on my way over and put together a salad from the cold & hot bars combined.

So many things went into this salad. I made a real attempt at getting a lot of green in there, since the day had been a mostly brown foods kind of day.  Here’s what I can remember: lettuce (which I avoided for the most part), chicken, penne & spinach salad, quinoa salad, steamed vegetables, roasted lima beans, peas and parmesan. I got red wine vinegar on the side but never ended up using it. There was plenty of flavor throughout the salad on its own.

I also had actual red wine on the side (x2):

It was so much fun having a chill night with the girls – exactly how I like my Friday nights!

Christin and Liz:

Me with Dianne:

I also had one of those cookies I’d baked. And – funny thing – so did everyone else. They were polished off in minutes! I was so sure that these cookies were a failure, but the girls convinced me that the recipe was worth posting.

So, I’m posting this with some reservations. Firstly, I still think the recipe needs some tweaking, but I suppose that’s what the Great Cookie Experiment is all about. Secondly, they’re kind of muffin-like, which is not how I personally like my cookies. And finally, I think they’re better the day after they’re baked.

Oh, and again, this was heavily adapted from Mama Pea‘s Soft-Baked Oatmeal Raisin Cookies. Her version is almost definitely better.

Okay. With that (I know, you’re just dying to try them now), I give you…

Oatmeal Carob Chip Cookies

Makes 12-15 cookies

  • 1 cup oats
  • 1 1/3 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 1/4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/3 cup honey (I would suggest using 1/2, maybe, instead?)
  • 1 tbs molasses
  • 1/2 cup Earth Balance (or butter, should you prefer it or have it on hand)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 cup carob chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Using an electric mixer, cream together the Earth Balance (at room temperature), egg, vanilla extract, almond milk, honey and molasses.

In a separate bowl, combine oats, flour, baking powder, cinnamon and salt.

Slowly add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and stir together.

Fold in carob chips.

Spoon dough onto cookie sheet.

Bake for 10-12 minutes and enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

Leave a Reply

