Pancake Breakfast

Breaking news: Pancakes do not have to be a decadent and unhealthy breakfast!

Inspired by some of my favorite bloggers – specifically Kath at Kath Eats Real Food and Heather at Heather Eats Almond Butter – I decided to make yesterday morning a pancake kind of morning. I sought out Kath’s recipe for Whole Wheat Yogurt Pancakes, made some alterations, and ended up creating my own version (though not too far from Kath’s – really, I just used what I had on hand and changed it for my intolerance).

Oh my GOODNESS… these were phenomenal.

Springy Whole Wheat Pancakes

Makes 3 servings of 3 pancakes each.

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2/3 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 3/4 cup nonfat greek yogurt
  • 1 egg
  • 2 packets stevia
  • 1 tsp canola oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp salt

Beat the egg. Add all other ingredients and mix until thoroughly combined.

Pour into pan (~1/4 – 1/3 cup of batter per pancake).

Flip when the batter starts to bubble.

I made my serving for yesterday with chopped nectarine in and on top of the pancakes, plus a little Earth Balance and a drizzle of honey.

You could really throw any fruit in like this and I can pretty much guarantee that it’d be insanely delicious.

I’d still be thinking about yesterday’s pancakes if today’s weren’t even better (I stored and refrigerated the other six pancakes yesterday). More on those in a later post!

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

2 responses to “Pancake Breakfast

  1. Lauren Hoban

    I’m going to make these this weekend.. I’ll let you know how it goes. This also reminded me of my love for Trader Joe’s pumpkin pancake and waffle mix. Any suggestions for replicating these, healthy and sugar free?

  2. I’m so excited that you’re going to try them!

    As for the Trader Joes Pumpkin mix… I am officially going to take this on as a challenge. Pumpkin pancakes, here KWH comes!

Leave a Reply

