The Return of Boot Camp

Oh, guys. I am so happy. This is the best possible announcement I can imagine right now.

I have returned to boot camp! No, I am not fully healed yet and no, I am not going to return to running yet, but I just couldn’t take the boring workouts anymore. I went back into boot camp this morning full force (and reclaimed my spot, thankyouverymuch, girl who thought she could have it) and it was DIVINE! It kicked my butt (per usual) and I left a sweaty, happy girl.

In total, my workout this morning was 45 (actually, more like 50 today) minutes of boot camp (which is basically an intense cardio circuit often including the use of weights) followed by 40 minutes on the elliptical. I’m looking forward to turning either my M/W/F elliptical workouts or my T/Th elliptical workouts into short runs and adding one long run on the weekends to start my race training. However, given the healing-but-still-present injury, I’ll take what I can get for now.

Now to the f-o-o-d…

Actually, funny story first. My grandpa was talking to my mom this weekend and told her he’d been reading the blog. She asked what he thought. He said, “Well, she’s awfully focused on food, isn’t she?”

I thought that was pretty funny. In case anyone else isn’t quite clear on the purpose of this blog… this is a food and fitness blog! Also – hi, Grandpa. 🙂

Right. Now actually onto the food.

As I mentioned earlier, the leftover pancakes I ate for breakfast this morning may actually have been even better than the ones I had yesterday.

Oh, man. I don’t want to toot my own horn or anything, but… well… Toot. Freaking. Toot. These were unbelievable. I topped them with a drizzle of warmed coconut butter and chopped fresh strawberries and then warmed it all together for a minute in the microwave. I thought I’d died and gone to heaven. I want to eat them every day for the rest of my life.

No joke.

Speaking of things that aren’t jokes, sunburns are for the birds! Amazingly, after I camp counselor-ed it up and made us all continuously reapply sunscreen throughout our hike on Saturday, I completely forgot to apply any sunscreen at all for my trip to Disneyland yesterday. Big fail.

Ouch, right? Don’t follow my lead – WEAR SUNSCREEN!

In other news, I’ve replaced my daily cup of coffee with a daily mug of green tea. There’s just something about the summer that makes the idea of drinking a hot cup of coffee kind of difficult for me to swallow (ha). Plus, iced coffees on the weekends have now become a special treat.

Anyway, those pancakes filled me up for a long time – I ended up eating lunch almost an hour later than usual and with no snack in between. No complaints here!

Lunch was baby carrots, snow peas, an unpictured (but gloriously juicy) yellow nectarine and the debut of…

Lentil Cups

makes 8 “muffins” (4 servings)

  • 2 cups cooked lentils (I used 4/5 of a TJ’s package) (NOTE: The type I used were pre-flavored. If you’re starting more from scratch, you’ll want to mess around with spices, etc.)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbs whole wheat flour
  • 2/3 cup chopped bell peppers (I used red, yellow and orange)
  • 1/8 – 1/4 (depends on how much you want) cup diced white onion
  • small handful of baby spinach
  • 1/3 – 1/2 cup low-fat shredded cheddar cheese

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Grease a muffin pan with nonstick cooking spray.

Put the cooked lentils into a bowl.

Beat an egg then add it to the lentils. Add the whole wheat flour.

Mix together. Toss in peppers, onion and spinach. Mix together again.

Divide mixture into muffin cups and sprinkle the cheese evenly over the cups.

Bake for 20-25 minutes at 350 degrees.

I was a bit worried as to how well they’d hold their shape, but they were compact even a day later! They’re good warm or cold but I prefer them warmed. I heated them in the microwave for a minute and 20 seconds for lunch today.

Yum!

(Updated 7/22: I’ve entered this for The Nourishing Gourmet‘s Pennywise Platter. Check it out for other recipes!)

7 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

7 responses to “The Return of Boot Camp

  1. ABM

    Great blog Kaitlin – I’m really enjoying seeing all the fun ways you’re using grains, and veggie proteins like lentils!

    A SIAB suggestion from someone who likes her smoothies in a glass (me)…I think the muddy color of what I’m sure are delicious SIAB concoctions can be a bit off-putting to some people. If you’re looking for something delicious and pretty, try doing frozen honeydew chunks, kiwi, mint, spinach, and some Greek yogurt or protein powder. It ends up turning BRIGHT green (which is quite lovely), and is even good with a little bit of mango puree or honey tossed in for sweetness.

  2. Thanks, ABM! Yes, I’ve thought about the unappealing appearance of some of my SIABs. I will definitely try your suggestion! I like to change up the flavors each time, though, so they won’t all be pretty. I think one thing that will help matters is that I’ll soon be changing protein powders (I’m not loving my current one) to a less earthy-looking one.

  3. Claire

    Congrats on getting back to boot camp! I’m trying to start incorporating exercise into my daily life – with you as the inspiration – obv.
    However, with my crazy work schedule I am finding it rough to trade in hours of sleep for hours of working out. This may be an odd question – but how many hours of sleep do you get a night?

  4. Thanks! And I’m thrilled to be an inspiration for you to get more exercising in! I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – it’s my favorite time of day.

    As for the sleep question, you’d probably be surprised to hear that I’ve gotten that from a few readers! I get 6-7 hours a night. I’ll address that even further in the Q&A section.

  5. Jamie

    I gotta make those lentil cups.

  6. So many people have said something to me about these lentil cups. I love it! I can’t wait until someone else tries them and tells me how it goes – you should!

  7. Will

    I made them and they were really good. All this despite the fact that I forgot to season the unflavored lentils.

Leave a Reply

