Sore, Sore, Sore

Oof.

Between not completely taking a day off from working out in over a week (I’m counting the hours of walking at Disneyland), returning to boot camp yesterday, and my strength class this morning… I am sore.

I’m pretty sure the word of the day in strength class this morning was FATIGUE. We did three long sets of each exercise and I stubbornly refused to lower the weight of my bar (I pride myself on my ability to use the heavier bars in class). If I’m feeling it today, I will for sure be feeling it tomorrow. It was not easy to follow that class with 70 minutes on the elliptical, but I somehow managed to do it.

I’ll also be moving slower for the rest of the day as a result. Again, I say: oof.

My picture of snack yesterday is again blown out and not worth posting, but it was yummy! I sliced up an apple and served it with a Babybel cheese and a small handful of pretzels. The larger snack was necessary to tide me over yesterday. It was a long afternoon.

Dinner was also a little boring – sorry! It was leftovers from the previous night’s squash lasagna.

To my pleasant surprise, the lasagna held its shape far better after a day in the fridge. It was also just as good!

I had two desserts last night. First was a small bowl of rainer cherries (picked up at the FM!)…

And then I decided I still wanted a little something more and took an Oatmeal Carob Chip Cookie out of the freezer.

I didn’t bother warming it up. This may be weird, but I really enjoy frozen cookies.

Yea. That is a little weird.

Anyway, I followed my workout this morning with a really refreshing smoothie. After finding that my smoothies have been too sweet lately, I’ve decided to drop stevia from them altogether and see how I like them. Again, I think this is a result of my quickly dwindling taste for sweeteners, but I found I really enjoyed my smoothie this morning, sweetened only by the fruit and protein powder in it.

Into the mix today went:

  • 3 ice cubes
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • blob nonfat greek yogurt
  • 2 spoonfuls vanilla hemp protein powder
  • handful of spinach
  • 1 nectarine, sliced

This was so light and refreshing! Perfect for a summer day.

On top, I added the usual warmed drizzle of coconut butter and a handful of cinnamon Puffins. Here’s a better shot of the toppings:

The only downside to this smoothie was that I was running late for work and had to scarf it down. 😦

I threw together a new salad for lunch today. We’ll have to see how I like it. I’m on the fence about it now (before trying it).

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog Posts

Leave a Reply

