The Splits!

So, guys, here’s the deal:

Foodbuzz is doing something pretty awesome and is hosting a competition for a great cause – raising money and awareness for the Ovarian Cancer Research Fund. This is actually a cause very close to my heart, as someone I knew and loved battled and sadly lost to this disease.

You can go here to read more about the competition, the cause and the OCRF.

Foodbuzz Featured Publishers have been asked to make versions of an “ultimate banana split” in order to help raise money and awareness. I’m actually not a Featured Publisher yet, as I have to wait until I’ve been blogging for a month to apply, but I’d like to get into the theme of this competition anyway. It’s good practice. Plus, even if I can’t be considered in the competition, that doesn’t mean I don’t want to help out.

It’s also probably a good thing that I’m not qualified for this competition, because there is no way I’d win. You’re about to see that my attempt was kind of a laughable disaster.

HOWEVER! It had a silver lining. You see, I think I was actually onto something here. I think I just ran out of time, had to pull it together too quickly, and missed some ingredients that I think would make it work better.

I’m not going to give you the ingredients or directions, since it didn’t work out. What I can tell you is that, given the near-but-not-quite-there success of the “ice cream” I made, I’m pretty sure I’m soon going to have a very cool, uniquely KWH sugar-free “ice cream” recipe to share with all of you.

I’m pretty sure I’m also going to have a chocolate recipe! I’m pretty ecstatic about this. Trust me – given my sugar intolerance, the ability to make my own chocolate is a gift.

And with that, I give you…

A Picture Story of the Banana Split that Wasn’t

… with a (rainer) cherry on top, of course. 🙂

Let me tell you something. This may not have looked pretty, and it may not have actually resembled a banana split in the end (more like banana soup!)… but it was delicious.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog Posts

Leave a Reply

