White Bean, Green Bean & Potato Salad

Last night was kind of a whirlwind.

I knew I had a lot to make (dinner for last night + lunch for today in one, breakfast for today, and some birthday cupcakes – including both the cupcakes and the frosting from scratch!) in not a lot of time (I had from about 8:00-10:30pm to get all of this done).

Suffice it to say it was kind of inevitable that I was going to make some kind of mistake, whether it being adding an extra cup of flour to one thing, burning something else, or… forgetting a minor ingredient.

I adapted this recipe from one I found on Serious Eats – check it out here.

White Bean, Green Bean & Potato Salad

makes 2 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium potato (of the white or gold variety)
  • ~ 3 or 4 cups fresh green beans
  • 1 1/3 cups white beans, cooked
  • 1/2 tbs olive oil
  • 1/2 tbs apple cider vinegar
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp pepper
  • 1 tbs diced white onion
  • 3 tsp parmesan & romano

Directions:

Fill a large pot with water and salt. Bring it to boil.

If you want to boil your potatoes: cut potato into small, bite-sized cubes. Add them the the water and boil 8-10 minutes until barely tender.

I, however, simply microwaved my potato for 7 minutes and then cut it up (carefully) into small, bite-sized cubes.

If you want to be lazy and microwave your potato like me, you’re using the water only for the green beans.

Rinse the green beans. Chop stems off and then cut each green bean in half.

Add the green beans to the boiling water and cook 4-5 minutes.

Meanwhile, combine oil, vinegar, salt, pepper and onion in a large bowl. Whisk. (There won’t be much, but it should be combined).

Add the cooked potato pieces to the whisked mixture and carefully stir. Once cooked, add the green beans and carefully stir again to distribute the liquid mixture throughout.

Add the white beans. Sprinkle the entire mixture with the parmesan and romano. Stir carefully again.

Serve warm (though it can be served cold as well).

Except… do you notice anything missing from these pictures?

Yea. I completely forgot the white beans. It’s funny, because as I was eating it I definitely thought something along the lines of, “I thought this had more nutritional value when I looked at the recipe,” but still managed not to put two and two together.

It was a long night.

In fact, I didn’t realize it until an hour later, when I was peeking through the fridge for something else and found the white beans.

No harm done. It was delicious (albeit more of a side dish) as it was. I added half of the white beans (so 2/3 cup) for the leftover serving and I’ll have to tell you how it is in a more complete sense after lunch!

Oh, that picture at the top does have white beans. I took that one after adding them to the leftovers.

Updated 8/12/10: I’ve entered this for The Nourishing Gourmet‘s Pennywise Platter Thursdays. Check it out for other great recipes!

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

Leave a Reply

