Other Bloggers Rock, Too

First things first. Read this post at fANNEtastic food because it is eye-opening and sends a great, non-foodie message.

Now, back to the normal musings…

I’ve returned to my daily mug of coffee instead of green tea. This might sound crazy, but I actually feel healthier throughout the day when I’ve consumed a cup of coffee vs. a cup of tea. This seems counter-intuitive, but I guess it’s just what works for me. Too bad, as green tea is really good for you. I’ll try to still incorporate it.

Lunch today was… kind of awesome. It was actually the first meal I’d ever assembled in our office kitchen, comprised of ingredients that I packed separately.

You see, we very recently got a toaster oven. Until a couple of weeks ago, all we had was a toaster and a microwave. A toaster oven opens us to a whole new world of possibilities.

Remember the Crack Wrap I had on Saturday? … And the one I had on Sunday, too?

Well, I still can’t stop thinking about it. It is called a Crack Wrap for a reason! Not wanting to compromise the integrity of the panini-like quality of the wrap, however, I this time re-created the open-faced sandwich I discovered at From French Fries to Flaxseeds.

Over two pieces of Ezekiel bread, I spread about 2-3 tablespoons of hummus, 8 slices of cucumber and one piece of light cheddar cheese (cut in half to work with the “open-faced” theme). Yum and a half.

One problem with that handy-dandy new toaster oven… I kiiiind of forgot to turn it on! (Okay, that’s not a problem with the toaster oven… it’s a problem with me.). Anyway, I realized it after about five minutes of eagerly waiting for my meal to cook and got so impatient once I realized my mistake that I turned the oven onto “broil” and let it cook for just a few minutes. Normally, I’d love for the cheese to bubble and brown a little, but I was starving and my lunch is only half an hour. 😉

Dessert, per usual, was a FM fruit picking.

One gorgeous white nectarine. Unfortunately, I’ve been having something of a clumsy day and dropped it about four times before I finally got around to eating it. It was a little bruised, but it was still great.

Snack today was a direct inspiration from Meghann at The Inner Workings of a College Graduate: carrot sticks dipped in almond butter.

(Side note: I finally figured out the white balance situation at my desk! Woo! It’s just embarrassing that it took me this long…)

I never would have known about the amazing combination of almond butter and carrot sticks if it weren’t for Meghann. I know it sounds a little crazy, but you have to try it.

Interestingly (or not, but I still feel like writing… and hopefully, you’re still reading), I had never before cut up my own carrots for a snack. I always assumed it was an unnecessary extra step when I could just buy baby carrots.

That’s really silly, isn’t it?

I realized last night that I need to at least attempt to use up the bag of whole carrots I have in my fridge before I leave for a few days. As a result, I learned how ridiculously easy it is to prepare carrot sticks. Obviously, I just cut the carrots up the same way I cut up every other vegetable. It only took a couple of minutes and it was definitely cheaper than buying a bag of baby carrots. No more laziness for this blogger.

And speaking of bloggers… I’d like to send a little shout-out to my favorite new blogger, Katie at The New “Good Ole Daze” –  I just discovered her blog and I’m really enjoying it. You should all check it out.

9 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

9 responses to “Other Bloggers Rock, Too

  1. Jamie

    Thank GOODNESS for the return of the toaster oven!

  2. 1. Thanks for the shout out! It is a good combo of flavours, isn’t it? 😀

    2. Cashew butter also makes an excellent carrot dipper. Mmm, cashew butter.

    3. Whole carrots totally trump baby carrots. Worth the extra minute or so to cut them up for way better flavour 😀

    • I have never tried cashew butter before! I am definitely going to have to find this stuff.

      I completely agree about whole carrots. Definitely worth the extra minute and definitely full of more flavor! We live and we learn…

  3. Thanks for the shout out! And the help earlier 🙂

  4. I’ve done that more times than I care to admit with the toaster oven. I’ve also burned more than one corn tortilla by toasting it a smidge too long.

    Big carrots toaste so much better than those baby carrots…so worth the extra minute.

  5. I’m glad you enjoyed my post! Thanks for sharing it with your readers 🙂

Leave a Reply

