I Guess I Like Burgers

If you look at my recipe archives, you’ll see that I make a lot of different kinds of bean/legume burgers. I love the idea of eating a compact, non-meat source of protein that I can eat alone, with veggies, or on a roll. Plus, they’re ridiculously easy to make, yet they feel sort of gourmet.

This is actually a fairly new trend in my life, which resulted from a) my recent purchase of a food processor, b) my love for the blog world and getting inspired by other bloggers, c) my transition to cooking almost everything from scratch given my new-found sugar intolerance and d) my increasing adaptation of a somewhat vegetarian lifestyle.

I don’t think I’ll ever actually be a vegetarian, but I do think meat and poultry are becoming “every once in a while” foods in my life rather than staples. This week’s beef burger adventure was certainly out of the ordinary for me.

Last night’s dinner involved another bean burger. Obviously. I mean, it’d be kind of weird if I’d written that whole opening and then told you about my chicken dinner. Am I right?

Lentil Burgers

makes 1 burger

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup lentils (I used Trader Joes’ pre-cooked and with flavors, etc.)
  • 1 tsp almond meal
  • 1 tsp grated parmesan & romano
  • dash garlic powder
  • generous dash cumin
  • dash salt
  • dash pepper
  • ~ 1 tbs diced vidalia (or other) onion

Directions:

Throw all ingredients except the onion into a food processor.

(I had forgotten the almond meal and parmesan & romano in this picture. Pretend they’re there. They were added afterward.)

Process for about 15-30 seconds.

Scoop out the mixture. Add onions. Form everything into a patty.

Cook on medium heat in nonstick cooking spray in a pan until both sides are golden brown.

Easy, right?

On the side, I had some…

Roasted Broccoli & Cauliflower

makes 2 large or 3 smaller servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 head broccoli
  • 1 head cauliflower
  • 1- 1/2 tbs olive oil
  • garlic powder to taste
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 1/4 lemon
  • 1-2 tbs parmesan

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Chop the broccoli and cauliflower heads into florets.

Spread the florets out in a pan or on a baking tray (oh, how I need one with edges). Drizzle olive oil and sprinkle garlic powder, salt & pepper over the entire pan. Toss.

Roast in the oven for 18-24 minutes. (Read: 18 if you’re hungry and impatient like I was, 24 if you want them on the browner side.)

Take out of the oven. Squeeze lemon and sprinkle parmesan & romano evenly over the entire pan. Toss and serve immediately.

All together now.

Easy-peasy.

3 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

3 responses to “I Guess I Like Burgers

  1. Jenni

    I was going to make Brian Carroll a similar burger when we had our 4th of July BBQ but he couldn’t make it. Sounded tasty but I was too lazy to make it just for me. . . i kind of regret that now.

  2. Jenni

    On a sidenote: I used to have this tendency to always taking pictures of food, like when I got to restaurants but I stopped for some reason and your blog is really starting to get me into that again. . i just love the visual presentation of food. .. wow. . that sounds weird.

    • Ha! First of all, I love that you take pictures of food. I now never eat a meal without doing that, though I do post them somewhere! What do you do with the pictures?

      Secondly, these burgers literally took less than 10 minutes total, from taking the ingredients out of the fridge to sitting down to eat. That’s faster than it takes to grill a meat burger! Try it next time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

