Honey Oat Banana Bread

I may never want to leave.

As I write this, I am sitting with the twins, who are calmly watching “Hannah Montana” and explaining the plot lines to me when they feel I need to know something to be caught up. Adorable.

Banana bread is cooking in the oven. The recipe is one my wonderful Aunt Andrea helped me to heavily adapt. It’s also got to be one of the healthiest banana breads in existence. And, even better, it was one that I got to make with Amelia, Grace, William,Juliana and Juliana’s friend Hayley. It was such a blast to bake with little helpers who wanted nothing more than to do every little thing – but who were also completely (and surprisingly) compliant with the whole concept of “sharing.”

This day is perfect.

Honey Oat Banana Bread


makes one loaf

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup honey
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 mashed bananas
  • 2/3 cup plain nonfat greek yogurt
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour (though we used white, as that’s what they had)
  • 2/3 cup rolled oats
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts (I’d suggest walnuts, but we used almonds)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix olive oil and honey.

Add eggs and mix until blended.

Mash bananas.

Add the mashed bananas.

Add the yogurt.

Mix.

Stir in the remaining ingredients except for the nuts.

Add the nuts and pour all of the batter into the loaf dish.

Relax and wait 55-60 minutes for your bread to bake.

Enjoy… maybe with a little Earth Balance.

I just hope you can find baking companions as awesome as mine.

Updated 7/27: I’ve added this to Simply Sugar & Gluten-Free’s Slightly Indulgent Tuesday. Check it out for other great recipes!

6 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

6 responses to “Honey Oat Banana Bread

  1. Love how all the kiddos got so involved! Especially the pic of them concentrating on cracking open the eggs, haha – so great!

    • I know! That was the best part. They’re all old enough now that their eagerness was matched by their determination to do it right. I had a lot of fun baking with them… and I hardly had to do any work! 😉

  2. Gevvie

    Sam pointed me towards your website, and it’s fantastic! Seeing this recipe made me hungry, and I want to let you know that maple syrup can also be used as a delicious sweetener in banana bread. I use it in mine, and it adds a great flavor.

    • Hey Gevvie! I actually almost used maple syrup as a drizzle on top, then changed my mind when I tasted how sweet the batter was. Once cooked, however, I realized I should have stuck with my original idea. I’m so excited to hear that you’re reading the blog! Thank you. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Recipe for Gluten Free, Sugar Free Slightly Indulgent Tuesday; 7/27/10

  4. Pingback: Slightly Indulgent Tuesday; 8/3/10 : Simply Sugar & Gluten-Free

Leave a Reply

