Already Over

How is this trip over already? I just got here!

I’m blogging from the airport, on my way back to California. The trip was short but oh-so-fantastic and I’m so glad I came. I did so much yet also had such a nice, relaxing time that it really felt like a mini-vacation… which is good, because I needed the break from LA.

My visit was somewhat revealing, blog- and food-wise. While Andrea called the smoothies I make “gross” (so wrong), my grandma was simply intrigued. She told me she’d been hoping I’d make one this morning… so, how could I disappoint?

Again, I had to experiment with the ingredients a bit since I wasn’t in my own home, but it worked out beautifully.

Into the mix went:

  • a big handful of baby spinach
  • 1/2 cup 1% milk
  • a blob of nonfat greek yogurt
  • 1 banana
  • 1 peach, peeled & sliced
  • ~1 cup cantalope, cubed

It was fluffy and only barely sweet, which was nice but took a moment to get used to. This was a great smoothie, but it definitely didn’t hold me over the way the smoothies I make at home with protein powder do.

I then went over to spend the morning with my gorgeous cousins. I finally caught a picture of the elusive Matthew!

The resemblance amongst the members of our family is so striking.

Amelia was also camera shy…

But I managed to sneak this beautiful shot (though blurry, like so many of the rest) in the midst of some magic trick action.

So pretty. Speaking of pretty, here are some more shots of the other children.

Gracie:

Juliana:

annnnd William:

I wish I could be around them all the time.

Anyway, the morning was over before I knew it, and soon it was time to return to my grandparents’ house to enjoy a gorgeous gourmet lunch that was already prepared when I got there.

How spoiled am I?

Caprese-Stuffed Peppers

(only slightly adapted from a cut-out unknown magazine recipe from my grandmother’s collected-recipes cookbook)

serves 3

Ingredients:

  • 3 red bell peppers
  • 1 1/2 tsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 1/2 tbs balsamic vinegar
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 3/4 lb cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 1 cup fresh mozzarella cheese, cubed
  • 1/2 cup fresh basil leaves, cut into thin strips

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Cut the tops off the peppers. Remove the seeds and the ribs.

In a large bowl, whist together the olive oil, vinegar, garlic, salt and pepper. Add the tomatoes, mozzarella and basil and mix together.

Fill each better with the tomato & mozzarella stuffing.

Place in the oven and bake until the peppers are tender, or about 40 minutes.

So good. It was like having healthy gourmet pizza.

… not that I really saved on carbs, since I definitely enjoyed two slices of a fresh baguette with butter on the side…

But who’s paying attention to that kind of stuff anyway?

Before I left for the airport, I napped, I read some Eat, Pray, Love, and I enjoyed a bowl of blueberries and strawberries.

That nap did me in, though. I never nap in the afternoons, and when I do, I end up exhausted. As a result, I’m sipping on a small skim latte as we speak… and I’m remembering just why I like Starbucks & Coffee Bean so much, because this latte is not awesome.

Alright, I should start packing my stuff up to get on the plane. See you back in sunny CA!

Updated 8/5/10: I’ve submitted this to The Nourishing Gourmet‘s Pennywise Platter Thursday. Check it out for other great and frugal recipes!

4 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

4 responses to “Already Over

  1. Jessica

    I am lovin’ your blog Kaitlin!! I am definitely going to use some of your recipes when I have to fend for myself in Florence next semester, and these stuffed peppers would be perfect. I’m a sucker for red peppers and mozarella. Reading your blog has been giving me the motivation to get healthy again. Much love!

    • Jess! I didn’t know you read the blog! I was so excited to see a comment from you. Also, given what you said in it, it sounds like we need to catch up! I can only imagine that the Caprese-Stuffed Peppers would be insanely better in Italy… you’ll obviously have to let me know how that (and so much more!) goes while you’re there. Miss you!!!

  2. Jamie

    LOVE stuffed peppers – they are so healthy & versatile. I used to make a couscous mixture with zucchini, corn, tomatoes and a bit of cheese. I gotta try this recipe out!

Leave a Reply

