Good Vibes, Please!

I am overwhelmed!

I feel as though I have been in overdrive for the past couple of weeks. I went straight from working last week to Texas, then right back to work this week. I’m also working on further launching this blog, which is really becoming my baby. Plus, with other really important things going on in my personal life, I have just had a lot to think about.

Probably due in great part to all of this, my body can’t decide how sick it wants to be. It’s as if I have allergies (you know, the kind that make people all sniffly in the Spring), but I’ve never had those before! Then again, it’s not like my body isn’t all about developing new allergies lately…

I am looking forward to having this weekend “off.” Yes, I know it’s only Tuesday, but having that to hold onto is keeping me sane. It’s like a light at the end of the tunnel.

Last night’s dinner was an old favorite and was one of the first Ten Minute Dinners featured on the blog: Overly Easy Eggs & Squash.

This time, I got a little crazy (not really) and added some parmesan & romano on top of the eggs, too. Wiiiild!

It was a good thing I had planned for that dinner, because I honestly didn’t have it in me to make anything else.

I was still feeling a bit snacky after that, so I broke out the Honey Almond Flax and put it in a mug with some carob chips and almond milk.

An unconventional dessert, but it hit the spot!

I had planned to sleep in this morning because I knew my body needed the sleep, but my body had other ideas in mind. I started waking up at 5:30am an by the time 6:30am rolled around, I knew I wasn’t going to fall back asleep again. Oh well, a half hour of extra sleep is still kind of sleeping in… right?

I didn’t go to the gym due both to my undetermined illness and an early appointment, so I did something I never do – I just laid in bed for a little while and watched the news. It is an extremely rare thing for me to wake up and just stay in bed for more than two minutes, even on a weekend. I am that much of a morning person.

Anyway, I eventually went downstairs to make my breakfast, which was a new variation of a SIAB (or a Smoothie in a Bowl, for new readers).

In the interest of loading up on vitamin C, I used Simply Orange Juice (100% juice, no sugar added!) instead of Almond Milk. It changed the smoothie entirely!

Into the mix went:

  • 1/2 cup 100% orange juice
  • ~1/4 cup nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • big handful fresh baby spinach
  • 1 level scoop Greens & Whey*** (1/2 serving)
  • 1 frozen banana

***I noticed this time that Greens and Whey has evaporated cane juice in it. As far as I can tell, the amount of this ingredient in this protein powder doesn’t bother me, but I want to make sure I note this for readers who are similarly avoiding this ingredient.

On top:

  • drizzle (~1/2 tbs) warmed coconut butter
  • small handful Cinnamon Puffins

This smoothie tasted like one you’d get at Jamba Juice. It tasted so fresh and I really enjoyed it.

My only complaint (and I’m not even sure it’s a complaint) is that the fresh orange juice taste slightly overpowered the taste of the coconut butter, which happens to be my favorite part of every smoothie. Still, this bowl of yumminess (What? Of course that’s a word…) was delicious and I will definitely be experimenting more with my SIABs from now on.

In other news, those of you interested in the avoidance of sugar for health or weight loss reasons should check out this post at Self.com.

Finally, please send me good vibes today! They are needed, as something important is up in the air. I can use all the happy thoughts I can get!

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

2 responses to “Good Vibes, Please!

  1. Jennifer

    In my days of working in an office, I used to walk in on Monday morning and announce to my collegues that it was almost Friday. Totally understand looking forward to the weekend early in the week.

    Great site you have here Kaitlin! I am certainly sending all sorts of good thoughts your way! Feel better.

    Jennifer

Leave a Reply

