My Head Is Fuzzy

You’ll have to excuse me if this post makes no sense. My head, to quote Meg Ryan in You’ve Got Mail, is all fuzzy. More on that later.

With my cold (which is now in full force), I haven’t wanted anything for breakfast this week other than produce-filled smoothies. I figure starting my days with lots of vitamin C can’t exactly hurt me. All I wanted today was the exact same Jamba Juice-esque smoothie from yesterday.

Doesn’t this look pretty?

Into the mix went:

  • 3 ice cubes
  • 1/2 cup 100% juice orange juice
  • big handful spinach
  • 1 level scoop greens & whey
  • 1 frozen banana

On top:

  • drizzle (~ 1/2 tbs) melted coconut butter
  • small handful Honey Almond Flax (I think I’m allergic to this. 😦 )

I don’t even remember what happened between breakfast and lunch today. Honestly, I couldn’t tell you a thing.

…So I’ll just skip right ahead to lunch.

I enjoyed two frozen lentil cups from a few weeks ago alongside the rest of last night’s kale chips.

For the record, I absolutely do not recommend eating kale chips the next day. They do not keep. They wilt!

I continued with the apple-a-day thing and followed lunch with another beautiful pink lady apple. This was actually just a waste, as I couldn’t really taste it.

Throughout the day, I also ate an entire dixie cup’s worth of mini pretzels – and no, I am not exaggerating. I wasn’t kidding when I said that being sick makes me reach for the carbs. And, I’m noticing this time around, I’ve been reaching for the salt, too. I wonder why?

Anyway, I didn’t last too long after lunch. The day continued to go downhill  with a throbbing head and and a trashcan quickly filling with tissues, so I finally realized I’d just be better off going home a little bit early. Thankfully, my boss obliged.

Now, I’m gratefully at home and curled up in my pajamas in bed, snacking on some frozen mango to soothe my throat.

(Perched precariously upon my ridiculously bright comforter.)

More importantly, I’m half-watching You’ve Got Mail (best sick movie EVER) and half writing for you wonderful readers.

Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan say hello.

Off to make that half-watching You’ve Got Mail and half- sleeping.

3 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

3 responses to “My Head Is Fuzzy

  1. Jamie

    I used to see them filming “You’ve Got Mail” all the time (or what seemed like all the time) on the Upper West Side when I was walking home from high school. They filmed it in the springtime I think, when the leaves were green, because I remember walking past a bunch of crew members spray-painting them autumn colors.

    Heather Burns’ character is still my favorite, probably for the line “If I lose my job I won’t be able to pay my rent and I’m gonna have to move…to BROOKLYN!”

    You are probably craving salt because you are dehydrated (salt helps your body retain water). Make sure to drink a lot!

    Feel better!!

    • The dehydration/ salt thing definitely makes sense! As for you having seen then film “You’ve Got Mail,” I am insanely jealous.

      And yes, that line is awesome. One of my favorites, for sure.

      Thank you!

  2. I thought I should tell you, that I watched ‘You’ve Got Mail’ just now, and I had forgotten how amazing and romantic it is, and I kind of want to watch it again right now, even though it just ended literally 2 minutes ago!

    I hope you’re feeling better! ❤

Leave a Reply

