Easy, Almost-Homemade Chicken Soup

All I’ve wanted since getting sick has been chicken soup, but I’m not a huge fan of canned soup. As a result, I’ve started making my own chicken soup when I’m sick, but I like it to be as easy as possible so I don’t have to slave over the stove when all I feel like doing is sleeping.

That’s how I ended up with this incredibly easy recipe. It also costs about as much (or less) as the same number of servings would cost if you were buying canned soup, but it’s also so much yummier and so much healthier (far less sodium and with fresh ingredients)!

Easy, Almost-Homemade Chicken Soup

makes 3 servings

Ingredients

  • 32 oz chicken broth (If you like your soup soupy, add another 16 oz. I prefer it less soupy.)
  • 2 chicken breasts, cooked
  • 6 fingerling potatoes
  • 2-3 carrots
  • 1 bunch celery
  • ~1 1/2 cups green beans
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • salt & pepper to taste

Directions:

Pour the chicken broth into a large pot and set the heat to high. Add the salt, pepper and garlic powder. Once the broth begins to boil, lower the heat to medium.

Chop the potatoes, carrots, celery and green beans into bite-sized pieces.

Add all of the chopped vegetables to the broth on the stove, starting with the potatoes and carrots and adding the celery and green beans a couple minutes later.

Cut the chicken breasts into tiny, bite-sized pieces.

Once the vegetables are cooked (about 5-7 minutes), add the chicken to the pot and cover again. Leave for about 3 minutes.

Serve with a sprinkle of parmesan and romano if you’d like (I know I did!), and enjoy.

I used my orange juice chicken, which probably isn’t recommended but didn’t bother me. I also didn’t measure my garlic and am pretty sure I used a little too much. However, as I can’t really taste a whole lot right now, I didn’t really notice the difference. Anyway, garlic is supposed to be good for you when you’re sick, right?

I’ve submitted this for The Nourishing Gourmet‘s Pennywise Platter Thursday, 7/29. Check it out for other recipes!

Updated 8/16: I’ve also submitted this for The Healthy Home Economist‘s Monday Mania. Check it out for other recipes, too!

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

2 responses to “Easy, Almost-Homemade Chicken Soup

  1. Thanks for sharing!

    Would love it if you would consider sharing this at Monday Mania blog carnival at The Healthy Home Economist. Recipes, green tips, personal stories, book reviews, vlogs etc are all welcome – an eclectic mix of awesome blog posts! Hope to see you there!

Leave a Reply

