Human Again

I slept for 12 hours on Wednesday night, probably about 5-6 hours during the day yesterday, and another 12 hours last night. Think I’m getting enough sleep?

It seems that’s exactly what I needed, though, because I actually feel human again today.

The hardest part of having a cold, for me, is the fact that I lose out on most of my favorite things. I have four broad categories of things that make me happy: people, exercise, food and television (I’m obsessed with good TV, by the by). When I’m sick, I only get to enjoy one of those four things (television), because people (understandably) avoid me, I can’t exercise, and I can’t taste food. TV is great, but it can’t sustain happiness alone.

Last night, while enjoying “Covert Affairs,” I ate one of my all-time favorite “sick foods” (and, let’s be honest, a favorite food even when I’m not sick): eggs on toast.

This definitely counts as a Ten Minute Dinner.

Open-faced KWH-ified Egg McMuffin

I toasted two pieces of Ezekiel and topped them each with an over-easy egg covered in salt, pepper and shredded low-fat cheddar cheese. I could only sort of taste it, but my memories of past installments of this delicious dinner filled in.

Served up with a side of OJ.

Happily, my taste buds returned with my functioning brain this morning.

I made much the same smoothie as I have for the past three days (sorry), but I added strawberries this morning. I had been hoping for a pink color, but sadly the three strawberries I added only served to make the smoothie a kind of dull, beige-ish green. Oh, well.

Into the mix went:

  • 3 ice cubes
  • big handful baby spinach
  • 1 level scoop Greens & Whey
  • 1/2 cup 100% juice orange juice
  • ~1/8 cup nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 3 strawberries

On top:

  • drizzle 1/2 tbs melted coconut butter
  • handful Shredded Oats (definitely my new favorite)

If you look really closely, you can see the red strawberry specks…

Lame. It tasted good, but I couldn’t tell any difference with the added strawberries vs. the previous few smoothies.

In other news, Simon Cowell had quit already, and now both Ellen DeGeneres and Kara DioGuardi are out, as well. Wow. I guess “American Idol” is over, even if they’re still forging ahead. But, seriously, Jennifer Lopez, Steven Tyler and Randy Jackson as judges? No thanks.

I just snacked on Goldfish, knowing they have sugar in them. Why, oh why, do I sometimes do stupid things?

I really do love and miss Goldfish… but that is really no excuse. Stupid office kitchen with its tempting snacks.

Anyway, sorry for the short post, but I’ll be back later today… it is, after all, a Coffee Bean Friday!

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog Posts

Leave a Reply

