Enjoying My Own Company

Oh, guys. I have had such a perfect, beautiful day.

I woke up naturally at 7:30, with no alarm set. Perfect.

I hung around for a while, checking email, twitter and facebook (you know, the usual), and then I made myself a delicious, Kath Eats Real Food – inspired bowl of oatmeal.

Those are banana whipped oats with coconut butter and cherry preserves. It’s okay if you’re drooling.

I then headed to the Farmer’s Market.

I tasted wonderful fruit and chose from amazing produce and baked goods.

My pickings…

Yellow nectarines and plums (I can’t remember what this variety is called… anyone know?):

Olive Bread (from one of my favorite stands):

An onion, green beans and a honeydew melon:

My favorite pick, heirloom tomatoes:

I also got some honey, but that’s for a separate post.

I made a divine sandwich with my FM pickings.

That’s fresh toasted olive bread with slices of an heirloom tomato, fresh buffalo mozzarella (not from the FM), fresh basil, balsamic vinegar, salt & pepper.

Yea.

I went to TJ Maxx and bought four pairs of shoes, totaling under $100! I have the hardest-to-fit feet ever and I absolutely could not believe my luck.

To toast (by myself) to my shoe-shopping success, I headed over to Starbucks and bought myself an iced coffee to sip on while going over my meal plan for the coming week (and yes, I write out a meal plan every week).

Most ridiculous spelling of my name yet!

I came home to hang out and chat with my lovely roommate, Mamito. While we were chatting, I ate a half of a banana with some Roasted Flaxseed Almond Butter.

I went for a long walk and played with my camera (I’m still obsessed)…

… then eventually settled on the steps of a school to read my book for a little while.

I thought I wasn’t into it at all (I really can’t relate to the main character), but it grew on me today. I actually couldn’t stop reading!

That is, until I spent almost an hour chatting on the phone with my parents and my sister. 🙂

After the long phone call, I went back home and made a yummy blogger-inspired dinner: a pizza-flavored veggie burger with Balsamic Roasted Green Beans.

The green beans were made from a barely-adapted recipe from Angela at Oh She Glows.

Here’s mine (but seriously, check Angela’s blog out)…

Easy Roasted Balsamic Green Beans


makes 2 servings

Ingredients:

  • 2-3 cups fresh green beans
  • 1 1/2 tsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • pepper to taste

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Wash and trim green beans and spread out on a baking sheet.

Drizzle oil on beans. Mix with hands. Drizzle vinegar and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Mix again with hands.

Bake for about 25-30 minutes and take out when slightly browned.

While waiting for the beans to cook, I sipped on a glass of wine and ate a(nother!) piece of toasted olive bread from the Farmer’s Market.

After dinner, I baked cookies…

… but this post is long enough. More on those tomorrow. 😉

I’d like to call the theme of today “enjoying my own company.”

…because I most certainly did.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

Leave a Reply

