Pizza-dilla

Yes, you read that right.

I had kind of a genius idea for dinner last night, if I do say so myself, and it was not only delicious, but it also it most certainly qualifies for the Ten Minute Dinners category.

Excuse me while I pat myself on the back for a moment.

Pizza-dilla

makes 1 serving

Ingredients:

  • 1 Ezekiel tortilla
  • 1 cooked chicken breast (I used the last of the Orange Juice Chicken)
  • ~1/3 cup shredded lowfat cheddar cheese
  • ~1/2 cup frozen bell pepper and onion strips
  • 2-3 tbs BBQ sauce*

Directions:

Set the oven to broil.

Grease a baking sheet with nonstick cooking spray.

Lay the tortilla out on the baking sheet and sprinkle the tortilla with the cheddar.

Sautee the onion and pepper strips in cooking spray in a skillet until heated through (about 2-3 minutes).

Spread the sauteed peppers and onions over the cheese.

Drizzle the BBQ sauce over everything.

Place the baking sheet in the oven and broil your “pizza-dilla” for 5-7 minutes or until the edges of the tortilla are browned and your cheese is bubbling.

Serve on a plate…

(Check out that steam!)

Slice it up like pizza…

And devour!

* Most BBQ sauces have sugar or high fructose corn syrup. I found this sauce, however, at a local health market. It’s called Robbie’s Original Barbeque Sauce. I tried it for the first time tonight, and while I didn’t love it (not a ton of flavor), it was definitely nice to find a BBQ sauce without sugar. It has fructose, but I’m pretty sure I’m okay with that ingredient.

Followed up with a little cereal with carob chips.

I’ve had this every night this week! Weird.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

Leave a Reply

