Making Banana Pancakes

Not only did I actually make banana pancakes this morning (more on that in a moment), but this song also has a vibe that completely captures the vibe of my weekend. You should listen to it as you read.

I seriously cleaned my place this weekend. I forgot to mention that yesterday.

And I do mean seriously cleaned. I got down on my hands and knees and scrubbed my bathroom floor. I cleared out my closets. I emptied and re-organized drawers. I packed up bags of old clothes for Goodwill (I donated seven bags full in December!). I vacuumed, laundered, sprayed, dusted… the works. You know your bedroom and bathroom needed a good cleaning when it takes you three hours to get through those two rooms.

So, yea. Trust me. They needed the deep cleaning. To be honest, though, I kind of liked doing it. (Weird, I know. But, I swear, it’s theraputic!)

Mamito’s beautiful sister, Sedi (she’s a teenager, boys, so back off!), has come to visit from the U.K. for a few weeks. She’s the main reason I baked cookies last night!

In honor of her visit, as one often does on Sunday mornings with guests, I made pancakes. Banana pancakes.

Mamito doesn’t like pancakes. I know. Totally ridiculous.

Anyway, Sedi’s ended up looking pretty.

Mine, however, burned pretty badly when I was more focused on my camera than watching the pancakes cook.

Whoops! It’s okay, though – they were still good.

I used the recipe for Springy Whole Wheat Pancakes, but I played with it a little bit today. I replaced the 1 tsp of canola oil with 2 tsp of unsweetened apple sauce and added an additional tbs of unsweetened almond milk. However, I liked the old recipe better. Plus, this recipe only ended up making seven pancakes instead of nine…?

I enjoyed mine with some Earth Balance and honey drizzled on top.

I went to Starbucks this morning with the intention of reading my book again while enjoying an iced coffee. Unfortunately, given my location at the time, I went to my least favorite Starbucks ever. Don’t get me wrong – I am a huge Starbucks fan. But this particular location has the worst service, both in that they’re ridiculously slow and ridiculously rude. I have never, ever had a good experience. Ugh!

So, my intention was to read there, but I was so irritated by the rude and obnoxious cashier that I couldn’t even concentrate on my book. This was for the best, though, because I took my coffee and went to a nearby park. Everything is better outside.

(Please excuse the iPhone photo.)

This book grows on me each time I read it. The book also makes me want to travel. Badly.

At lunchtime, inspired by HEAB‘s Hummy Mustard Dressing and her recent salmon salad (and at her urging), I decided to try what Monica at Run Eat Repeat calls “Hummustard.”

Hummustard Tuna Salad

makes 1 serving

Ingredients:

  • 1 3-oz can of white tuna in water
  • 1 tbs hummus
  • 1/2 tbs dijon mustard
  • 1/8 cup finely chopped celery
  • 1/8 cup finely chopped carrots
  • 1 tbs finely diced onion
  • salt & pepper to taste

Directions:

Cut up tuna with a fork and knife. Add in hummus, mustard, salt & pepper. Chop up carrots, celery and onion and add to salad. Mix until thoroughly combined.

I served my tuna salad with the rest of last night’s Easy Balsamic Roasted Green Beans, served cold (…they were better hot).

Afterward, I had one (okayyyy, two) of the Oatmeal Raisin Cookies from last night.

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

2 responses to “Making Banana Pancakes

  1. Once I get started cleaning, I CANNOT stop, and I agree – totally therapeutic! Oh my gosh, how I love a clean house.

    Yay for Pancake Sunday…OK, so I have to be honest, I’m having major issues with Mamito not liking pancakes. How is that even possible? 😉

    Your Hummustard tuna salad looks so creamy and delicious…but not as good as that cookie. 🙂

  2. Will

    Jack Johnson and pancakes- how deliciously Conn Coll!

Leave a Reply

