Back on the Bandwagon

Before I get to anything else… please keep thinking those happy thoughts for me! I’m still waiting on some news.

Anyway… between my trip to Texas, getting sick, and a day full of pancakes, Oatmeal Raisin Cookies, far more than one serving of Shredded Oats for an afternoon snack and a yummy dinner out yesterday, I haven’t exactly been “on the bandwagon” lately.

But I’m back today, and it feels good! I even went back to the gym this morning, and I cannot even begin to tell you how happy that made me. More importantly, my 10K training started today! This is very exciting for me. Given that I a) miscalculated my weeks (whoops) and b) missed a week of training last week due to my cold, I’m working with an expedited 6-week training schedule, which I kind of piecemealed together. I think it will be just fine. My willpower and determination will make up for my two lost weeks.

Willpower and determination are good like that.

After I came back from the gym, I served myself a nice, cold, Blueberry-Banana Smoothie in a Bowl.

I have been so into SIABs lately! I do miss my overnight oats, but I’ve found I’m better fueled for the day with these guys.

Into the mix went:

  • 3 ice cubes
  • 1 level scoop Greens & Whey
  • 1 frozen banana
  • handful fresh baby spinach
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • blob nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • ~1/2 cup fresh blueberries

On top:

  • ~1 tbs coconut butter (which would not melt or drizzle today! Hmmph.)
  • handful Shredded Oats (yummm)

I seriously daydream about coconut butter and Shredded Oats. I’m craving them right now.

It was both creamy and delicious. It was interesting and fun to go back to having almond milk in a smoothie after a week of subbing in orange juice. I was, however, hoping the smoothie would take on more of a blue color. Oh, well. I suppose the taste is more important.

The morning went by in a blur. It is Monday, after all. Even though I wasn’t really hungry, I was feeling peckish and decided to snack on a small piece of fruit. I don’t know if this is a clementine, a small orange, a tangerine… or something else. Can anyone tell just by looking at this? The slices came apart easily and they were seedless, if that helps.

It wasn’t really worth it. It was a lame piece of fruit. I ate it anyway. Like I said… it’s Monday.

Lunch was one of my favorites, and no stranger to this blog: hummus, cheddar and cucumber on two slices of Ezekiel bread (All thrown into the toaster oven on broil for a couple of minutes) with sugar snap peas on the side.

This lunch is so good to me.

It’s also nice to get so many greens in by the time lunch is over. Spinach and G&W for breakfast + cucumber and sugar snap peas at lunch = not so bad.

I followed lunch with a deliciously juicy yellow nectarine from the Farmer’s Market on Saturday.

It really is amazing how much better FM produce is than grocery store produce.

I’m going to do a recap of each day of training until the 10K. I should warn you before you start reading… I am so not a fast runner. At all. I doubt I ever will be. My “run” is a jog to most people. Now that you know, we can proceed…

10K Training Day One

5 minutes elliptical

45 minutes boot camp

1.5 miles on treadmill @ 5.0 speed, 18 minutes; 2 minute cooldown @ 4.5 & 4.0 speed

35 minutes elliptical (30 minutes @ high intensity, 5 minute cool down)

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

2 responses to “Back on the Bandwagon

  1. Will

    That sandwich looks absolutely amazing. I’m going to make that for dinner this week.

Leave a Reply

