Bloggers Copying Bloggers

So, something kind of exciting… an old friend from grade school, whom I hadn’t spoken to in years, is also a blogger. Her blog is about her endeavor to complete a list of goals in one year. As is turns out, one of her goals was to learn how to cook five dishes. She came across Kaitlin With Honey and decided that my Easy, Almost-Homemade Chicken Soup would be one of them! Pretty cool, right? She already did it – check it out. 🙂

Her soup looks great, doesn’t it? Better than mine, in fact! (In my defense, I was sick!)

I snacked it up in the afternoon with some Meghann-inspired carrot sticks with Almond Butter.

What? I did not clean that container out with my finger.

Don’t be ridiculous.

In other (totally depressing) news, I think I have to stop using Greens & Whey in my smoothies, even though I definitely paid for an entire tub and even though it is, by far, my favorite protein powder. I’m pretty sure I’m getting sick from it. 😦

Dinner last night was a happy disaster. I had planned on making zucchini boats inspired by Emily at The Front Burner (and still will, someday), but I got home and realized that my zucchinis were far too skinny for such an ordeal. Instead, I came up with the following…

Summer Quinoa

makes 3 servings

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup dry quinoa
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1/2 tbs extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 tbs grated parmesan & romano
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 1-2 tbs diced white onion
  • 2 whole zucchinis
  • 1 cup grape or cherry tomatoes
  • 6 fresh basil leaves
  • 1/4 cup fresh buffalo mozzarella, cut into small, bite-sized pieces

Directions:

Pour the quinoa and water into a medium pot and set to simmer. Allow the quinoa to cook until it has fully absorbed the water.

While your quinoa is cooking, dice the onion and sautee in a pan at medium heat in cooking spray.

(Keep an eye on the quinoa, by the way. It can burn on the bottom if you’re not careful to stir.)

Chop the zucchini into small pieces (each slice can be quartered) and add to the pan.

Stir occasionally and cook until the zucchini slices begin to brown.

Cut each grape or cherry tomato in half and add to the pan for just a couple of minutes.

Rip the basil leaves into small pieces and add to the pan for just a minute.

(Sorry for the blurry picture.)

By now, your quinoa should have fully absorbed the water. Add the olive oil, garlic powder, parmesan & romano, salt and pepper. Stir until combined. Add the vegetables and stir again. Just before serving, add the mozzarella.

Serve and enjoy!

This was really, really yummy. It’s also quite satisfying for a fairly small amount of food!

I definitely finished the last two Oatmeal Raisin (S)Cookies last night. Thank goodness those are gone. I pretty much finished that entire batch on my own.

1 Comment

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

One response to “Bloggers Copying Bloggers

  1. Summer quinoa looks great!

Leave a Reply

