Operation Beautiful: How I See

In honor of the (very exciting!) Operation Beautiful book release this week, Caitlin has asked other bloggers to write within this theme: Change The Way You See – Not The Way You Look!

This theme hits really close to home for me.

If you’ve read My Story, you know that I used to weigh about 240 pounds.

And, if you’ve read My Story, you also know that in the past year and a half, I’ve lost over 60 pounds. So much more important than shedding the weight, however, was shedding the skin of who I was.

I changed mindsets.


I’ll tell you one of my saddest secrets. I used to wake up every morning to a moment of bliss. That moment of bliss was the moment before I remembered who I was. And then, just seconds after every waking up every single morning, I would think, “Oh. I’m still fat.” Every. Day. I started every day feeling depressed.

Even just posting those “before” pictures above was difficult for me because I got sad while going through them – not because of the way I looked, but because I remembered how miserable I was and how negatively and hopelessly I saw myself during that time in my life.

However, I didn’t do anything about it! How I allowed myself to remain so self-loathing without taking control of the situation is beyond me, but I somehow did it for years.

I don’t even recognize that person anymore.

These days, I wake up every day and pop out of bed, full of energy. I change into my gym clothes and within twenty minutes of waking up, I’m already working out. I laugh throughout boot camp and genuinely – genuinely! – enjoy almost every single workout. It really is my favorite time of day.

Your body is your temple. You hear that phrase often because it is TRUE. At some point, it just clicked within me that you only get the one body you have and you have to treat it right. I am so much happier since I figured this out.

It doesn’t matter that I’m not a size two and never will be. It doesn’t matter how I look.

What does matter: the way I feel, the way I treat myself and the way I see myself.

I think I’m beautiful and I try to treat myself that way every single day. You should, too.

6 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

6 responses to “Operation Beautiful: How I See

  1. Inspiring story. You have a great attitude about life and how you treat your body! Keep up the great work 🙂 I just did my body image post for operational beautiful too 🙂

  2. Sarina

    Just wanted to say congratulations on your self-image success! You should be so proud of your achievement and of having the courage not only to make the changes you did, but also for sharing your experience with us all. What a strong and inspiring woman!!

  3. worleebird

    What a great post, especially since it was hard to share. Thank you! 🙂

  4. Incredible post! You’re very inspiring 🙂 It’s true we have to love ourselves for who we are and love our body for what it does for us- not how it looks.

  5. Pingback: My Seven Links | Kaitlin With Honey

  6. This is an older post, but I love it!

    Your transformation is AMAZING and even though you think you have a long way to go (I dont think if you think that, but you were saying something like that a few months ago?), you made SUCH progress.

Leave a Reply

