Healthy Perspectives

I am hardly the only blogger posting about Operation Beautiful. I’ve read so many of these wonderful posts in the past few days and they are all incredibly inspiring.

One, in particular, really hit home with me. Mama Pea is, without a doubt, an idol of mine. She has an amazing attitude about life, family, food, health, and everything else. Particularly importantly to me, she raises her children to see the world with the healthiest perspective I can possibly imagine. Her Operation Beautiful post highlights this perspective so beautifully that I feel the need to share it with you all. It made me cry!

It is a hugely important goal in my life to raise my future children the way Mama Pea is raising Gigi and Lulu.

I also really agreed with something that Katie had to say in her post: that “fat talk,” or when girls put down their own (or others’) bodies, is extremely unattractive. Love yourself! And stop criticizing other people, too!

Anyway, I have food to catch up on.

Breakfast this morning was a SIAB, but it was a little weird. The only protein powder I felt safe using this morning (safe given my intolerance, I mean) was the other half yesterday’s packet of Jay Robb’s Chocolate Whey Protein Powder, which I paired with other smoothie ingredients that most certainly should not be blended with chocolate. I figured it would be fine since I couldn’t really taste the chocolate yesterday. However, the chocolate showed up enough in this smoothie to clash, which was unfortunate. Still, though, it was good enough to eat!

It certainly looks pretty…

I swear, just looking at that coconut butter in there makes me drool…

Not that you should copy it, but…

Into the mix went:

  • 3 ice cubes
  • big handful fresh baby spinach
  • 1/2 packet Jay Robb’s Chocolate Whey Protein Powder
  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • blob nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • 1 frozen banana

On top:

  • drizzle coconut butter
  • handful shredded oats

I spent all morning craving different (and kind of random) foods. At one point, I thought I would die if I didn’t have a ham & cheese panini. I’d like to go on the record saying that I honestly cannot remember the last time I ate ham. I don’t even like it that much. Can’t remember the last time I had a panini, either! Ten minutes later, all I wanted in the world was Bertucci’s pizza. We don’t have any Bertucci’s in LA – I know it from back home on the east coast. Anyone had Bertucci’s pizza? Man, oh, man, did I want it this morning.

Fortunately, the lunch I had packed ended up being exactly what I wanted by the time lunchtime actually rolled around. And thank goodness for that, because otherwise, we might have had a crisis on our hands. 😉

I had leftover White Bean, Green Bean, & Potato Salad. Well, actually, no white beans, just pinto beans. That link was for the original recipe; last night’s adaptation can be found here.

This meal is seriously so good. If you haven’t tried it yet, make it.

I had my last plum after lunch today. I finally took a picture with a bite taken out so you can see what the flesh looks like.

Snack was another round of carrot sticks with AB.

I really love this snack.

And I really swiped the tupperware clean again. This is getting embarrassing.

10K Training Day 4

5 minutes elliptical

45 minutes strength training

65 minutes elliptical (60 min high intensity, 5 min cool down)

I spoke to my fitness instructor this morning, and she thinks I might be over-training. Any thoughts on this?

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog Posts

Leave a Reply

