Running Late

My garage door is broken.

I am 100% convinced that this is the reason for which I have been scatterbrained and late to just about everything for the past 48 hours.

Case in point: even this post is up late today!

It’s not that having to manually open the garage door, drive out of the garage, park my car, and manually close my garage door takes that much time, it’s just that I forget I have to do it every time and then get irritated about it all over again. I didn’t plan for those extra sixty seconds, you know?

Anyway.

Dinner last night looked (and pretty much tasted) completely unappetizing, so I’ll show you and then we can just move on. I had all of five minutes to make and eat this meal and I felt my body needed protein and not much else, since I was going out for a beer.

So, I had two eggs scrambled with about 1/2 cup lowfat cottage cheese and about 2-3 tablespoons (I definitely didn’t mean to use that much… it just spilled out) of (sugar-free, of course) salsa.

Yea, sorry. Foodblogger fail. Oh, well. Can’t win ’em all.

However, my lame dinner was soon remedied by an awesome beer (an Orange Wheat, which is a hef) at a very cool bar in Burbank called Tony’s Darts Away. I am a huge fan of this bar (though, lately, it seems lots of other people are too, which makes it tough to get a table). Tony’s serves all craft beer, all draught beer (in the interest of the environment – awesome), and all California beer. They also have incredible bar food (which includes vegan food, which they – understandably – boast about!). I didn’t bring my camera last night, but I’ll eventually do a real review of this place, including the food. If you’re in LA, you should definitely check it out.

This morning at the gym kicked. my. butt. First of all, I didn’t get to sleep until late last night. I’ve had a hard time falling asleep lately. Too much on my mind, I guess? Second of all, my body is feeling tired after this week. Between returning to the gym after a week off and upping my workouts in the interest of training, this week was a little rough on me. I won’t lie… I am definitely looking forward to my rest day tomorrow.

I did, however, have a ton of fun in boot camp this morning. I love the fitness instructor that teaches on Fridays.

After I practically crawled home from the gym, I made myself a different kind of smoothie. As a creature of habit, I often make variations of the same thing over and over once I find something that works for me. This is why so many of my smoothies are so similar. Given my limited smoothie resources at the moment, however, this morning’s smoothie was pretty different. It was good, but I still prefer my regular old go-to smoothie.

By the way, I know this looks brown, but it was fairly purple! I’m a little bit bummed that the color wasn’t captured correctly in the pictures.

Berry Almondilla Smoothie

Into the mix went:

  • 3 ice cubes
  • big handful fresh baby spinach
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • blob nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • 2 tbs Vega Vanilla Almondilla Shake & Go
  • 1/4 honeydew melon
  • ~1/3 cup frozen berries (blackberries, cherries & raspberries)

On top:

  • drizzle coconut butter (the best part!)
  • handful Shredded Oats

To be honest, I’m really just not a huge fan of the Vega Shake & Go Vanilla Almondilla Protein Powder. This really surprised me, as a) I know a lot of other bloggers are big fans and b) anything almond-flavored is generally sure to make me swoon. I think this stuff sort of tastes like grass and dirt with a too-sweet almond & vanilla flavor.

I need to buy new protein powder this weekend! I also need to buy an arm band for my iPhone for when I run… I’m starting to think that the whole “I’ll just stick it in my sports bra” thing isn’t going to work out.

Also, that’s what she said.

10K Training Day Five

5 minutes elliptical

45 minutes boot camp (SO intense today!)

1.5 miles on treadmill @ 5.0 speed for 18 min + 2 min cool down @ 4.0

30 minutes elliptical (25 min @ high intensity + 5 min cool down)

Not going to lie. I struggled with the run today. Boot camp had me exhausted!

1 Comment

Filed under Blog Posts

One response to “Running Late

Leave a Reply

