Weekending

The thing about having a full-time job is that weekends are all about catching up on errands. This morning, I managed to get to the Farmer’s Market, the bank, Starbucks (okay, that’s not an errand, but you know…), Target, Sports Authority (to pick up a new armband for my iPhone for running, yay!), Ralph’s and Trader Joe’s. It’s been a busy day!

I never ended up making it to that party last night. I went over to Lauren’s apartment to chill out by playing Rockband and drinking some wine. Lauren wasn’t hungry, so it was a good thing I’d ordered lunch yesterday rather than eating my packed lunch; I just ate my (Pinto) Bean, Green Bean & Potato Salad instead!

One serving of dinner…

… and more than one serving of wine.

No need to elaborate beyond that. 😉

Before I knew it, it was past 11:30pm and I’d had more than one glass of wine… aka, I wasn’t driving myself through LA to go to a party! I called it a night and ended up just going to sleep.

I woke up this morning craving oatmeal (it’s such a Saturday morning kind of meal to me), so I made myself some blueberry pie oatmeal.

I threw 1/3 cup oats, 1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk and 1/3 cup water into a pot on the stove and heated it at medium heat for a few minutes. Once it started to cook through, I also tossed in a pinch of salt, a dash of pure vanilla extract, a dash of cinnamon and half a packet of stevia. For the last minute of heating, I added about 1/3 cup blueberries.

I put it all in a bowl and topped it with a heaping tablespoon of nonfat plain greek yogurt, about a tablespoon of almond butter and a dash of pumpkin pie spice.

I didn’t get much at the Farmer’s Market today, as I’ll be traveling again in just a few days (so excited!!!) and don’t need much food.

I got some fresh baby spinach (this was a first for me)….

…a yellow peach, a white nectarine, a yellow nectarine, two tiny plums…

… and some amazingly delicious grapes that taste exactly like grape juice.

Here’s a lesson I wish I’d learn: never shop when you’re hungry. I did, and I picked up one of my three kryptonites!

I tore into these the moment I got into my car.

By “my kryptonites,” I mean, “things with which I absolutely cannot stop at one serving.” I ate ALL THREE of them today and did not stop at one serving with any of the three! Whoops.

The other two, for the record, are Shredded Oats and carob chips. I had a big mugful of these together after lunch today. Completely unnecessary, but I had it anyway. I should probably regret it more than I do, but – hey – I really enjoyed it.

Despite my overindulgence in chips before lunch, I still had a pretty epic lunch today.

First, I made a much-improved version of last week’s tuna salad. I realized, while consuming that salad, that I really don’t care at all for dijon mustard.

What I really like is honey mustard, but unfortunately, my shopping has revealed that honey mustard just about always has sugar as an ingredient. Not to be deterred, I decided to make my own honey mustard using a little bit of honey and this mustard:

Worked like a charm.

Hummoney Mustard Tuna Salad

makes 1 serving

Ingredients:

  • 1 3-oz can of white tuna in water
  • 1 tbs hummus
  • 2 squeezes yellow mustard
  • 1 squeeze honey
  • 1/3 cup diced cucumber

Dice up the cucumber and mix everything together!

Tres simple.

I served it on the olive bread from last weeks’ Farmer’s Market (out of the freezer, of course), toasted with some shredded cheddar on one of the pieces of the bread.

So. Good.

Seriously. You’ll be seeing this again.

Very grateful for this:

10K Training Day Six

Rest Day!

Also very excited for my plans tonight!!!

5 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

5 responses to “Weekending

  1. OMG the tuna salad is so yummy! I didn’t have it with the cucumber, because I thought I had one and didn’t, and the only hummous I had was lemon-coriander flavoured, but it was SO delicious, I will definitely be eating this again! 🙂 ❤

  2. Blueberry oatmeal looks great, as well as all the fresh produce!!

  3. I love how I searched for Rockband and I got this fantastic post with delicious looking recipes! 🙂

    I am totally going to try the cucumber and tuna salad! It would probably go nicely with pita too!

  4. Pingback: South Beach Diet Lunches | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

