“Long Run”

Yesterday morning involved my scheduled “long run.” I have it in quotations because, comparably to most runners, my long run was neither very long nor really a run. My pace is generally between 10-13 minutes, which is more like a jog to most runners. Also, the length of my run yesterday was 3.5 miles, but it was the long run for my first week of training and thus the longest run of training so far, and I was pretty excited about it.

It was a feat for me, so that’s really all that matters.

On my arm, you can see my new iPhone armband (made by Nathan). It’s still taking some getting used to – it rubbed against my arm in an unpleasant way throughout my run. It was, however, certainly a vast improvement to keeping my iPhone in my sports bra!

It made me feel like more of a legitimate runner. I liked that.

Signs I am becoming a better runner:

  • The length of my run felt shockingly short and do-able.
  • I had a lot of fun.
  • My first instinct when I got home was to stretch.

All really good feelings!

I came home starving and, after stretching, fixed myself a new Smoothie in a Bowl. It wasn’t very pretty, so I brought it outside to photograph with some nature to distract you. 😉

Cherry Almond Smoothie

Into the mix went:

  • 3 ice cubes
  • big handful fresh baby spinach
  • 2 tbs Vega Vanilla Almondilla Protein Powder
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/8 cup nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • ~1/3 cup frozen cherries
  • ~2 drops almond extract

On top:

  • drizzle coconut butter
  • handful Shredded Oats

Almond is my favorite flavor and adding the extract helped to mask the taste of the Vega powder, which I’m still not crazy about. This smoothie was good. Not my best, but definitely nice and refreshing after the run.

A couple of hours later, in the midst of some errands, I stopped at Starbucks to grab a coffee and read.

I told you my name gets spelled differently every time.

I didn’t actually end up reading; too many other things came up while I was there. I’ve finished Italy and I have to return the book to the library because my loaning period is up and someone else has a hold on the book. To be honest, I’m not sure how much I love the book and am therefore not sure I’m going to finish it. I don’t feel a huge sense of loss in returning it.

However, I am a fast reader and the idea that I have to return the book because I didn’t finish it on time is odd to me. I just haven’t had time to read! I never see a movie before reading the book, but I think I might make an exception this time.

Given a late start with the run, a subsequent late breakfast (I ate around 10:45am), and grazing (more kryptonite chips and the coffee), I never really got hungry for lunch. Around 3:30pm, I ate a little bit of nonfat plain greek yogurt mixed with half a packet of Stevia and topped with some nut granola, blueberries and pumpkin pie spice.

It definitely wasn’t anything exciting, but I knew I’d be eating a good deal more fairly soon.

More on that later, though!

10K Training Day Seven

3.5 mile outdoor run @ about a 12 min average pace

0.5 mile walk cool down

STRETCH!

(I always stretch, of course, but yesterday’s stretching session was epic.)

1 Comment

Filed under Blog Posts

One response to ““Long Run”

  1. Will

    That is the cutest pic of you EVER.

    And this is coming from someone who doesn’t use the word “cutest”.

    Or “pic”.

Leave a Reply

