Heading Home

So much to update you on!

First of all, I’m blogging from HOME! And my home, I mean Connecticut. I am thrilled. There is nowhere I’d rather be right now.

But let’s back up to last night. I honestly can’t even process the fact that, 24 hours ago as of the moment I’m writing this post, I was at work in California and practically jumping out of my seat to head out and to the airport.

Once at the airport, I ate my dinner, which I had prepared the night before. I had a turkey sandwich on olive bread with a piece of cheddar, the remainder of my baby spinach and a few slices of very ripe (and very creamy!) avocado.

A truly Farmer’s Market sandwich.

I had the last FM nectarine on the side.

Please excuse all of the iPhone pictures. It was far too much of a hassle to dig out my big camera while at the airport, especially with so little time until boarding.

Oh, wait. Scratch that.

My flight was delayed for 10 minutes, then 15, then 20… and then, once we were on the plane over half an hour after we were supposed to have taken off, we were delayed almost another two hours. Awesome.

I then, sadly, had a hard time falling asleep on the plane. I’d say I slept for a total of three hours last night, on and off?

It didn’t kill me as much as I thought it would. Fortunately, my excitement at being home and seeing everyone prevailed. Heck, it’s now after 10pm here on the east coast and I’m staying up to blog! Pineapple Express is on in the background. I’m not sure why I felt the need to tell you about Pineapple Express. Perhaps I’m more tired than I thought I was.

Anyway, my mom picked me up from the airport and, once back near our hometown, we made two very important stops.

First, we stopped at Uncle’s Deli in Darien, CT for egg sandwiches (a childhood favorite that just doesn’t exist in the same way in Southern California. This is probably for the best.).

I got an egg and cheese on a roll.

Next stop: Starbucks. The usual.

Even though I totally needed this after my nearly sleepless night, I had trouble drinking it. I only ended up drinking about half.

I came home, unpacked, showered, and was ready to begin my day! After all, the entire idea of taking a redeye was so I could maximize my time at home.

Okay. Sorry I’m so behind, but I am exhausted. Time to hit the sack and I’ll come back tomorrow to fill you in on my homecation day one. đŸ™‚

1 Comment

Filed under Blog Posts

One response to “Heading Home

  1. Jamie

    It’s true, it’s so tough to find a decent egg sandwich in L.A.

Leave a Reply

