Homecation Day One, Part One

Loving being home. Loving it.

One pretty awesome part of yesterday was when my mom and I went shopping at TJ Maxx and I came home with eight shirts, a sweater, a pair of shorts and a pair of shoes. I made out like a bandit! I’m wearing one of my new shirts today. 😉

Today, of course, being Homecation Day Two. Boy, do I have a lot to catch up on!

Anyway, so my mom and I went home to pick up my dad, who had come home from work early just to see me! (Cue the “aww”s here.) We went out to lunch at a really cute (and totally “Connecticut” – read: awesome) local cafe/ restaurant called Silverwood Market.

That’s my dad, posing cheesily at the door.

The menu:

You can’t read the contents of my sandwich in the picture (you barely could in person!), but I got the “Fresh From the Garden” sandwich. It had portabella mushrooms, spinach, tomato, goat cheese and pesto on ciabatta. I asked the guy behind the counter if he knew if there was sugar in the bread, but he didn’t know. Given my experience with reading ingredients, however, I’ve become fairly familiar with which breads tend to have or not have sugar. I felt pretty safe with the ciabatta and decided to risk it. Thankfully, I was right!

Here’s my sandwich, with a couple of bites taken out.

I also got a delicious home-brewed raspberry iced tea, but it was sweet enough that my tummy started to hurt (whether actually or psychosomatically, I’ll never know), so I passed it off to my dad.

After lunch, my mom and I broke off to go to our favorite amusement park: Whole Foods!

It’s nice that my mom and I are so similar. 🙂

While there, I picked up a few hard-to-find items that I’ve seen throughout the blog world.

Our cart, of course, was full of food for the whole family – not just me!

Here’s everything I bought. You’ll recognize some of my regulars, but this also includes the stuff I wanted to try out:

The new things:

That’s sweetened with maple sugar, so I’m pretty excited to try that!

Dr. Kracker Crackers (!!!):

We dug into those right away at home!

The item I was most excited about:

I’ll be telling you more about these in a later post. This cereal is a BIG DEAL!

Also, before we left WF, I picked up a much-needed iced coffee and put some half & half and agave in it. A little too much agave, really, but I was felt okay about it.

I came home to enjoy that coffee while lounging by the pool with my dad and dogs.

Dad:

Sawyer:

and Thatcher:

Dad and Sawyer ended up taking a dip…

…but Thatch and I abstained.

After all that excitement, I decided I had enough energy to go for a run. More on that later! It’s time for my mom and me to head out again.

4 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts

4 responses to “Homecation Day One, Part One

  1. Aww I’m glad you’re having fun at home! I miss you lots, and I miss your family lots too!

    At Whole Foods, did you dance around the super market like a crazy? I’m pretty sure that is my favourite memory of you from when we were little, haha! 🙂

  2. Jamie

    Are your dogs named after Tom Sawyer & Becky Thatcher? My inner (ok, not so inner) English major nerd salutes you!

  3. Claire

    I’m so glad you are enjoying home. That sandwich looks AMAZING. I want to make fun of you for a second for calling it Silverwood in your blog with a picture directly underneath that has a sign that says Silvermine.

    Your dogs are super cute. The west coast misses you.
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

