Homecation, Day Two

I should probably just call it “week of indulgence,” rather than “homecation.” I haven’t really stopped myself from eating whatever I’ve wanted – within reason, but still… I’m hardly living up to my “healthy living” blog status right now. Bear with me. I’m letting myself have some food vacation. 🙂

I did, however, start strong yesterday.

Before anything else, I woke up early so I could make my sister a SIAB before she went to work. She had wanted to try one and is only home for part of the time I’m home (she’s going away this weekend), so I wanted to get it in ASAP. I made her a Banilla Smoothie. Look how pretty it was:

Soon after, I went to my family’s gym and did 50 minutes of cardio on the Precor 100i AMT (I love this machine) and then did an hour-long (awesome) strength training class. The gym felt gooooood – especially after the ridiculously indulgent meal on Tuesday night.

I came home and made myself a bowl of nonfat plain greek yogurt with a diced up peach and about half a cup of Peanut Butter Bumpers – aka my new favorite thing. Now, don’t worry, they’re not going to replace the shredded oats… but this cereal makes me really happy because it’s a very healthy way to have “sugary” peanut butter cereal. Considering that Reese’s Puffs cereal was my favorite cereal as a kid, it makes a lot of sense that I would be excited about this new introduction to my life.

Here’s a little nutritional information about the cereal:

Woohoo! I give this cereal a HUGE thumbs up.

My bowl:

My mom and I spent the morning running errands. At lunchtime, we headed to meet my sister for lunch at Coalhouse Pizza in Stamford, CT. I liked the vibe of this place. It’s all music-themed.

Check out the table:

I got a really yummy salad called the “Pride & Joy.”

Here’s the description, from the menu: “Chilled lentils simmered in our home-style vegetable broth and garlic, fresh rosemary, and turmeric seasoning, with Roma tomatoes, marinated artichokes, sautéed red onions,sweet peppers, Kalamata olives and feta cheese, dressed with an apple cider and olive oil vinaigrette.”

Yummy, right?

I also had a half a slice of my mom’s pizza (as in, I ate half of what’s pictured here):

I don’t remember what kind it was (sorry), but it was good!

At some point during the day (I actually think it was in the morning, before lunch), I also enjoyed one of those Honeydrop Teas I had gotten at Whole Foods. I tried the “Apples & Honey” tea.

Please ignore the stupid expression on my face. It’s totally awkward taking a picture of yourself drinking something in a car. People look at you strangely.

Here’s the (really nice) ingredient list:

Another big thumbs up.

Anyway, we came home and chilled out for the rest of the afternoon. I don’t even know if I could tell you what I did yesterday afternoon, other than blogging and playing with my dogs.

Dinner was my absolute favorite homemade meal ever, my mom’s Mango Chicken Salad. It deserves its own post, so I’ll be posting it later (probably once I’m back in CA)… but I’ll tease you with this (very poor quality) picture of my plate.

Sorry. I was in a huge rush to eat.

Oh, and don’t kid yourself. I ate that – at least – times two.

I spent the rest of the evening baking with Sam, my sister. I made up (well, adapted from my sister’s Blondie recipe) a recipe for Almond Blondies. They were an epic failure, but I firmly believe they could be amazing with just a few tweaks. Really, it’s the agave’s fault. This was my second attempt at cooking with agave (the first was in my pre-blogging days), and unfortunately I faced the exact same bad results as last time. I’ll never cook with agave again. It just does not bake well.

As I’ve said before, I think it’s important to have failures in the kitchen. They teach you just as much as, if not more than, the successes.

I will, however, leave you with some pictures of the baking process. After all, Sam and I did have a little photo shoot.


I’ll post the recipe once I fix it. 🙂

10K Training Day Eleven

50 min Precor cardio (45 min high intensity + 5 min cool down)

50 min strength training

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog Posts

Leave a Reply

