Sarah and Zumbach’s

I did not anticipate getting to see any friends during my homecation, as all of my friends have long since moved away from my hometown and I was only going to be on the east coast for a few days. However, my good friend Sarah, thankfully, wasn’t about to take no for an answer.

Somehow, between her crazy awesome job for which she had worked late into Thursday night and her day’s plans to drive hours and hours to a camp reunion up on Maine, she managed to fit me in for a coffee date early yesterday morning. Flattering, right? This is one of the many reasons I love her. I’m just sad we only got to see each other for such a short amount of time! She and I are the kind of friends that just pick up right where we’d left off.

We met up at a local coffee shop called Zumbach’s, which is in New Canaan, CT.

I’m a big fan of Zumbach’s. It very much embraces the feel of a local, personal coffee shop. It’s the type of place you return to day after day, where the staff knows your name and knows your drink.

Everyone is friendly, the staff is knowledgeable and the coffee is insanely fresh and delicious.

And, even if you couldn’t tell how fresh the coffee tasted, you’d know if you were sitting outside (as Sarah and I were).  Out there, you can get rained on by the coffee ashes while they’re roasting their coffee. Case in point:

I enjoyed my coffee first with Sarah, and then alone after she hit the road. I had to wait for my mom to pick me up (as I am, of course, car-less in Connecticut).

Well, not completely alone. Living up to his coffee shop’s friendly reputation, the (totally cute) manager, Chris, came out to chat with me for a little bit.

Sorry, ladies, no picture of Chris. 😉

I’ll just leave you with a picture of my coffee (which was a Cinnamon Hazelnut) on the cute outdoor table, instead.

Ah, I love being home. If you’re in the area, check this place out.

1 Comment

Filed under Blog Posts

One response to “Sarah and Zumbach’s

  1. Sarah

    Am I officially your pushiest friend? Glad I didn’t take no for an answer…and the sleep deprivation was sooo worth it for an hour with you, my dear.

    As always, so wonderful to see you and hope to have a repeat performance soon! Keep me posted on all of your thoughts and plans for the future. Loving all the recent posts – everything looks insanely delicious.

Leave a Reply

