Sugar?

Well, the day certainly started sugar-free, even if it didn’t remain that way. Before I headed out for coffee with Sarah, I had a bowl of Peanut Butter Bumpers with a diced up nectarine and unsweetened almond milk.

My photography would be so much prettier if I were always in this house.

Anyway, while the cereal was good, I was reminded as to why I don’t usually have cereal for breakfast. Just a few hours later, I was starving! We (my brother, mom and I) all were, after the doctor’s, so we went to a nearby deli and picked up some sandwiches. My mind was reeling, post-appointment, and I was having trouble focusing on the menu.  I basically ordered the first thing I could focus on enough that sounded good.

It was a wrap with sliced turkey, apple butter, jack cheese, bacon and sprouts. I asked for half the bacon and no mayo. It was good, but hardly life-changing. It was also huge, but I really had no problem polishing it off.

My dad came home early from work again yesterday to hang out, and once we told him the news, we all decided to head out to a nearby Italian bakery, Angela Mia’s, to celebrate my newly returned sugar-tolerant lifestyle.

We got an assortment of our favorite cookies and all picked at them in the car.

It was both exciting and liberating. I’d like to say I didn’t overdo it, but I’ve definitely had my fair share of “catching up” on sugar in the past two days. Don’t worry, this is not at all a phase that will last. I’ll be over it by the end of the weekend.

Dinner last night was the best. We went to my favorite restaurant, Viva Zapata in Westport.

I didn’t even have to look at the menu – none of us did. We all have our favorite dishes there.

We started with the guacamole appetizer…

…and (sugar-filled) margaritas, of course.

Cheers!

I ordered a vegetable chicken quesadilla, which was basically heaven in my mouth.

I was so excited about it that I kind of forgot to take a picture of it before I dug in. Whoops!

After dinner, we went mini-golfing by the ocean. It was perfect.

My mom (somehow) kicked all of our butts and I was dead last. We can just leave it at that. 😉

10K Training Day Twelve

Rest day!

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog Posts

Leave a Reply

