A Perfect Connecticut Saturday

Well, I’m back in California. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t feeling a bit homesick for Connecticut right now. 😦

However, I have lots of catching up to do about the weekend. I can at least absorb myself in my pictures.

Saturday started off strong, only slightly suffering due to the previous night’s margarita-fest. My mom and I went to the gym bright and early, where I did a little PreCor, ran 2 miles on the treadmill, and then joined my mom for a strength class. I’m pretty sure I was sweating tequila.

Gross. Sorry about that. Mostly sorry to the other people in the class.

After class, my mom and I headed to a local Farmer’s Market. It has long been one of my favorite Farmer’s Markets, ever. Here’s a little photo show.

Yes, they have live music.

So, so pretty.

We came home to make some smoothies. My mom adamantly did not trust the idea of spinach in her smoothie (psh, non-believer wimp), so I made her’s without it. My dad wanted to try it too, so my mom had about 2/3 of her’s and we gave the rest to my dad (who had already had breakfast).

His & Her’s SIABS:

That’s a Banilla Smoothie, minus the spinach, with coconut butter and granola on top.

I made myself a Raspberry Mousse Smoothie with the same toppings.

It was even better than usual because it was consumed outside in my parents’ gorgeous backyard.

I honestly can’t remember what I did for the rest of the morning. I think my mom and I went to run some errands. I know we stopped for coffee at some point, too.

We really like our coffee.

We came back for lunch and made the sandwich I’ve been craving for months.

The Connecticut Farmer’s Market Saturday Sandwich.

It’s heaven.


It’s better than any other caprese sandwich you’ve ever had. Just trust me on this.

It’s semolina bread with fresh (and I mean fresh) buffalo mozzarella, tomatoes and pesto, all (save the tomato) from the same stand at the Farmer’s Market.

So. Freaking. Good.

We followed the sandwiches with a little more Farmer’s Market delight: tiny slices of blueberry pie.

Drool.

I totally licked my plate clean. And I do mean that I picked my plate up and licked it.

Don’t judge me. You would have, too.

The afternoon was spent just hanging around the house, which included starting (and not finishing) Whip It and snacking on some Food Should Taste Good Cheddar Chips with a little bit of cheddar cheese.

Dinner was an early celebration of my dad’s birthday, so we had a meal that he requested. I can’t say it was my favorite, but it was still good.

We had jambalaya, grilled shrimp & chicken sausages, sliced FM tomatoes with S&P and fresh FM corn. The corn was, without a doubt, my favorite part of the meal.

That, and the wine. A glass of Chardonnay, poolside.

The dogs wanted in on the corn, too. Though Thatcher is definitely still learning the art, Sawyer is really good at eating corn off the cob. Our first dog, Huckleberry, was also quite skilled at this.

Even though it looks like I’m angry in the second one (that one’s with Sawyer, the good-at-this dog), I’m pretty sure I’m actually in the middle of saying “Good boy!”

Nice day, right?

10K Training Day Thirteen

15 minutes Precor (cardio)

2 miles @ 5.5 on treadmill (I upped my speed a little!) for about 22 minutes + 3 min(ish) cool down

60 minutes strength training class

1 Comment

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

One response to “A Perfect Connecticut Saturday

  1. Pingback: My Seven Links | Kaitlin With Honey

Leave a Reply

