Back in LA

… and back to real life. Sigh.

As such, even though my flight on Sunday night was delayed and I didn’t end up even getting into bed until midnight (aka way past my bedtime), I knew I needed to wake up yesterday morning to go to the gym. If I didn’t, my week would be thrown off. So, I went to the gym bright and early and did another CrossFit-infused boot camp class plus an hour on the elliptical.

When I came back, I had to be slightly creative in the kitchen for breakfast. Since I had been traveling, I had pretty much nothing in the fridge and was clean out of fresh produce. Thankfully, I had some frozen fruit and was still stocked up on almond milk.

I missed my spinach, but I survived.

I had a banana-berry smoothie, which was passable but not worth its own recipe page/ link.

Oh, and yes, I brought those Peanut Butter Bumpers to LA with me. I knew I’d have a food shortage when I got home!

Into the mix went:

  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 scoop Jay Robb’s Vanilla Whey Protein Powder
  • 1 frozen banana
  • ~1/3 cup frozen mixed berries

On top:

  • ~2/3 tbs drizzle melted coconut butter
  • ~1/2 cup Peanut Butter Bumpers

This was the first time I’ve regretted the addition of coconut butter. It did not mix well with the other flavors – especially the PB-flavored cereal.

I definitely also had another handful or two of that cereal before I left the house. πŸ˜‰

I had absolutely nothing to bring for lunch, so I was very happy when I heard that we were ordering from The Corner Bakery for lunch at the office today. It was exactly what I was craving!

I was pretty excited to be able to order my favorite salad, which I hadn’t been able to have when I thought I was sugar-intolerant. I got the Asian Wonton Salad and ate every single bite (but only used half of the dressing).

Sadly, it didn’t totally fill me up. I ended up grabbing a small handful of pretzels and six almonds to tide me over for a little while.

At snacktime, I indulged in another food item that I had been convinced was making me sick: Naturally Nutty’s Cinnamon Vanilla Sunflower Butter! I love this stuff. I had a big spoonful of it with a banana.

This made me happy. πŸ™‚ It’s so nice to reintroduce some of my favorite foods back into my diet.

10K Training Day Fifteen

5 minutes elliptical

45 minutes boot camp

65 minutes elliptical (60 min high intensity, 5 min cool down)

1 Comment

Filed under Blog Posts

One response to “Back in LA

  1. Seriously, your gym workouts are HARDCORE. I’m impressed!!

Leave a Reply

