Loving the Re-Introduction

I almost feel like a traitor to my former sugar-free blogging self, but I just can’t lie. I am loving the re-introduction of sugar into my life.

Now, don’t get me wrong – I am hardly going crazy (even though I did, a little bit, while home). I just feel so liberated. I don’t have to check every ingredient, and, more importantly, I have a broader scope of foods to eat and experiment with.

For instance, snack this afternoon was a Luna bar. Oh, how I have missed these!

Lemon Zest flavor. So yummy… so satisfying.


I will say, however, that I have been seriously surprised at how easily my tastebuds have adapted back to the taste of sugar. It took me about a month to lose my taste for it and about a day to get it back. Interesting. I guess a lifetime of consuming sugar set me up well for this.

Backing up…

Post-workout, I had a glorious return to overnight oats this morning!

It had been a while. Even if the blogging world had done nothing else for me (which it clearly has), my time spent in it would be worth it just for my discovery of this breakfast.

Nothing has changed, but here’s what I did for any newbies to KWH…

Into the mix (last night) went:

  • 1/3 cup rolled oats
  • ~1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • ~1/3 cup nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • ~ 1 tsp ground, blueberry-flavored flax seeds
  • 1/2 packet stevia
  • dash cinnamon

On top (this morning):

  • sprinkle nut granola
  • ~1/3 cup diced strawberries
  • ~1/3 cup blueberries

All you have to do is mix the first set of ingredients together the night before, throw the bowl in the fridge and let it sit overnight. In the morning, cover with your toppings and enjoy!

In other news, expect to see many more outdoor photos. I’m just going to have to be creative in figuring out places to take the pictures. I learned at home in CT how much prettier pictures are when taken outside. It’s all about the natural light!

Lunch today was a little bit boring, but at least it had a lot of green!

That’s last night’s not-so-fire-roasted chicken with broccoli & cauliflower. I had packed grated parmesan & romano to sprinkle atop the broccoli & cauliflower, but I lost it somewhere along the way of my commute. I have a sneaking suspicion that it’s hanging out in my car. Oh well.

Thankfully, Lauren came to my rescue (as always). She had and shared some shredded mozzarella. I sprinkled that and some S&P on top.

The veggies were definitely the best part of this meal. I shared with others in the kitchen. I wanted to eat much more, but I was warned against this. Apparently my co-workers are worried about my digestion.

Followed with a peach.

Anyway, others at work had sushi for lunch and offered their leftovers to the rest of us, so I helped myself to two pieces.

I’ve never had raw sushi before. I still don’t know if I did today. I didn’t know what I was having and this was a mistake; I did not enjoy it. It’s probably because I wasn’t sure of what I was eating, but I’m going to have to give this sampling a big thumbs down.

In fact, I’m finding the smell of soy sauce in my garbage can to be pretty nauseating.

Gross.

10K Training Day Sixteen

5 minutes elliptical trainer

45 minutes strength training

3 mile run on treadmill @5.0 for 36 min + 5 min cool down

I think, at least for the remaining duration of my 10K training, I am going to start cutting back on my strength training. Maybe only one of the T/Th sessions a week? Boot camps (on M/W/F) all incorporate weights. I don’t want to over-fatigue my muscles. Thoughts?

1 Comment

Filed under Blog Posts

One response to “Loving the Re-Introduction

  1. Things have been crazy, but we still have to meet up at some point 🙂

Leave a Reply

