Gazpacho

Last night, Lauren and I set out to make gazpacho. Neither of us had ever had gazpacho before, but my mom had recently sent me a recipe and it sounded perfect and light for yesterday’s hot evening.

We liked it, but there are various things I’d change. Mostly, there was way too much garlic. It was also a little too spicy. I’m going to post this recipe as-is (with the alterations we made last night), but I’m also going to make notes as to how I’ll change it for next time. If you enjoy garlic and a little heat, don’t change it. If you’re more like me, and you’d prefer something lighter and simpler, go with the italicized notes. 😉

By the way, the original recipe was not original with my mom, but she can’t remember where she got it.

Gazpacho

makes four entree servings or six appetizer servings

Ingredients:

  • 2 cans (14.5 ounce each) diced tomatoes. (We used one can fire roasted and one plain diced. Next time, I’d just use two plain diced.)
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 tbs extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 medium seedless cucumber, peeled and diced
  • 1 small yellow bell pepper, cored, seeded and diced
  • 1 small sweet onion, diced
  • 2 medium fresh garlic cloves, minced (I definitely, definitely suggest using garlic powder as opposed to cloves, and probably only 1/2 tbs)
  • 1 small jalapeno, seeded and minced (Optional. Use it if you like heat. We did not want it.)
  • 2 tbs sherry vinegar (Don’t substitute this ingredient.)
  • 2 tbs chopped fresh parsley, basil or cilantro (We used cilantro. I liked this choice, but next time I want to try basil.)
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper to taste (for each individual serving, not the blender)

Directions:

Chop everything very small (dice), and of equal size.
Combine tomatoes, water and olive oil in  a food processor or blender and process until pureed.
Add in the sherry vinegar, the cilantro (or basil or parsley) and garlic. Blend again until evenly distributed.
Add half of all other ingredients. Blend again, for just a few seconds.
Transfer to a medium bowl and stir in remaining ingredients.
Cover and refrigerate until ready to serve (cold).
Serve it alone as an appetizer or as a main course with grilled shrimp, fresh mozzarella chunks or avocado and sour cream on it . (We went with the avocado & sour cream. Next time, I want to try fresh mozzarella.)

By the way, we ate this with a side of garlic bread. Amusingly, the bread didn’t even taste garlicky in comparison to the gazpacho. It was a great idea at the time, but in retrospect I wish we’d held off on adding more garlic to our meal.

I woke up tasting garlic. I’m not a fan of that! Do try the gazpacho, though… just learn from my mistakes. 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

Leave a Reply

