Seriously Good

Guys…

Today has been full of some seriously good eats. It has just been one of those days and I am loving it.

After kicking my own butt at the gym this morning (boot camp involved intervals with jump ropes… let’s just say I did more than “glisten”), I came back to the most awesome breakfast ever.

I made overnight oats last night, as I often do. Nothing new there. But then, this morning, I topped it with banana “soft serve” (inspired by Angela at Oh She Glows) and a blob of Naturally Nutty Butter Toffee Peanut Butter.

Just read that again. That was my freaking breakfast.

I don’t even know where to begin.

This was the first time I’ve ever made banana soft serve (which seriously was just throwing a frozen banana in the food processor, scraping it down every so often, and letting the food processor do its magic). I certainly had my doubts. My doubts were stupid, because this was awesome.

I actually didn’t leave it in as long as I was supposed to, so I’ll obviously have to try it again. Obviously. It was amazing even without completing the process correctly, so I can only imagine what it will be like when done correctly.

And that Butter Toffee Peanut Butter? Yea. No words. Just buy it.

And no, I am not being paid to tell you to buy it. It’s just that good.

It’s one of the biggest reasons I’m so happy about my misdiagnosis of a sugar intolerance.

So. Good. I honestly can’t wait to repeat this breakfast. I have a feeling this combination would also be really yummy with hot oats, though I don’t very often enjoy hot oats…

I know. I’m the only healthy living blogger in existence who doesn’t dream about hot oatmeal.

Anyway, as if breakfast wasn’t epic enough in itself, lunch was even better.

We had a new food truck stop outside of our office today and the entire office was abuzz with excitement. At first, I wasn’t interested. I don’t need to pay for a food truck lunch when I have a perfectly good frozen veggie burger in the freezer, right?

Wrong. I am so glad I came to my senses after seeing everyone else’s lunches pass by me… and not looking greasy. That was my biggest reason not to want any.

I had one meal in mind (noodle and salad-based), but they ran out of the ingredients for it when just a few people were in line in front of me. At first, I was completely disappointed – especially since I had already been in line for over half an hour – but then I decided to order the tofu tacos.

It was a blessing in disguise. They literally changed my life.

I can’t possibly do them justice in my description, but I can try. The corn tortillas were so doughy, they melted in my mouth. The tofu almost tasted like… french toast? There was something cinnamon-y or nutmeg-y about them. They were also topped with cucumber, pickled carrot and daikon (I don’t even know what that is, but I loved it), cilantro and – I think – mint. The best part? The sriracha aioli. This was my first experience with sriracha after reading all about it at Eat, Live, Run and I was not at all disappointed. I enjoyed the heat! Who knew? I’m usually such a wimp.

If I didn’t stay so full from them all afternoon (seriously, it’s 6:00pm now and I didn’t even have an afternoon snack – just a peach after lunch and a small handful of cereal), I would want more. Immediately. I was actually sad when lunch was over. Sad. Legitimately.

I really want to try to recreate that tofu.

10K Training Day Seventeen

5 minutes elliptical trainer

45 minutes boot camp

50 minutes elliptical trainer (45 min high intensity + 5 min cool down)

I’m excited for tomorrow’s workout!

(…yea, you can make fun of me for that.)

P.S. – Don’t forget about the contest! It ends at noon tomorrow (Thursday).

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog Posts

Leave a Reply

