Pink

There’s pink, and then there’s pink. Today’s smoothie was the latter.

Wait, can you see it yet? I’m easing you in.

And, BAM, there it is. That is pink.

The color can really just be attributed to the fact that there isn’t any spinach in there. Oh, and the fact that one of the main ingredients is strawberries. 😉

Strawberry Banana Smoothie

Into the mix went:

  • 3 ice cubes
  • 1 frozen banana
  • ~1/2 cup sliced fresh strawberries
  • 1/2 scoop Jay Robb’s Vanilla Whey Protein Powder
  • ~1/4 cup nonfat plain greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk

On top:

  • ~2/3 tbs warmed coconut butter
  • handful Shredded Oats (they’re baaaack!)

Very good. Also very sweet.

Although I’m enjoying the vibrant colors of the smoothies without spinach, I must admit that I do miss those leafy greens.

I did bring some greens into lunch, but they weren’t leafy. I brought back the Vegetarian Sandwich and had some sugar snap peas on the side.

I was actually planning on making a new sandwich today (after all, who wants to read about the same food over and over again?), but circumstances (meaning… I left my scattered ingredients in the wrong places) kind of forced this upon me. Oh, well. At least I love the sandwich, right?

Ending on an apple-y sweet note.

This apple tasted like autumn. Or, you know, fall, which is what I actually call this upcoming season. I was just trying to be fancy.

Speaking of fancy, today is Fruit Salad Thursday! This was also my first Pastry Thursday since the reversal of my sugar intolerance diagnosis and I was surprised at how tempted I was. I ended up taking half a pastry, taking one bite and then throwing it out upon realizing how not worth it it was.

Thank goodness for Lauren, who saved the day (as she so often does) with her fruit salad fixings.

Since everything is better with some nut butter (did that sound awkward to anyone else?), I added a little taste of sunflower butter when I got back to my desk.

In other news, my day has been weird.

I’ve gone back and forth between feeling silly and giddy, and exhausted or as if I’m getting sick.

It just started off on the wrong note, really. I had been very excited to wake up this morning to run on the nearby high school track, but I unfortunately realized just before falling asleep last night that public school has started for the year (is that crazy to anyone else) and the track is no longer available to me. Rather than figuring my morning out last night (as I should have), I decided to leave it until the morning. What I ended up doing was waking up to my alarm, staying in bed to “think about it” (yea, right), and falling back asleep. Fortunately, I woke up soon enough to make it to my strength class (just) on time, so I just decided to take that as a sign. I went to strength, though I pretty much phoned it in, and then had to draaaag myself up to the treadmill. I was thisclose to skipping my scheduled run, but I (thankfully) convinced myself that my funk would worsen if I missed a planned training session.

To my surprise, the run was actually pretty awesome. I’m really glad I did it. Yes, there were tough moments (mainly mental, since I was cranky at first), but for the most part I just kept marveling at how far I’ve come – and that is enough to cheer anyone up.

In other other news (See, I told you I’m all over the place today. I told you that, right?), I have a baking itch. However, like I said, I feel like I might be getting sick. What to do, what to do…

10K Training Day Eighteen

45 minutes strength training

3.5 mile run on treadmill @ 5.0, 42 min + 5 min cool down


3 Comments

Filed under Blog Posts, Recipes

3 responses to “Pink

  1. here is so many inspirations!

    have a nice time!
    Paula

  2. Wow, that smoothie sounds wonderful! I love all that gorgeous fresh fruit – Gotta use as much of it as we can before summer’s up!

Leave a Reply

