Dark Chocolate Dreaminess

Boy, did I have no energy last night. I came home and made a can of chicken noodle soup … and I didn’t even take note of what kind it was.

And now I’m going to force you to look at an unappealing picture of my boring dinner.

I’m so sorry.

I followed dinner with an equally effortless dessert. Peanut Butter Bumpers, Shredded Oats and carob chips.

I then bundled up under my covers, watched the two episodes of “Covert Affairs” on which I had to catch up, and I went to sleep.

I woke up this morning with a sore throat but went to the gym anyway. If I’m about to get sick, I want to get every day of training in that I can, while I can! I can’t tell if I’m really getting sick, but I do know that I am very nervous about the idea of missing a bunch of training days. I need every single one of them to feel comfortable going into the 10K.

Thankfully, boot camp this morning was intense and also incorporated running. We did about 25 minutes of running-based drills and then followed it with about 20 minutes of strength training. I really enjoyed it and forgot I didn’t feel well while I was doing it.

I’m basically planning on fighting this potential illness with all I’ve got. I can avoid a cold with sheer willpower and stubbornness, right? Because that’s the plan.

In brighter news, I did something dangerous (but awesome) last night before coming home. I went out and bought this:

Yes, yes I did. This jar will be my ultimate test in self-control.

Of course, I tore into it and ate a spoonful the second I got home… before I even broke out the can of chicken noodle soup.

…!!!…

That was the sound of me dying and going to heaven. That stuff is dangerously, dangerously good. I remember Heather saying it tasted like a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup, and she was not kidding!

Obviously, I made plans to incorporate it into my breakfast. While I don’t think it blended as well as I wanted it to with my overnight oats, it was still a fantastic way to start the day.

To be clear, that’s a bowl of overnight oats with sliced strawberries and a spoonful of Dark Chocolate Dreams.

It was, in fact, dreamy.

Up close with the good stuff:

Heavenly.

10K Training Day Nineteen

5 minutes elliptical

45 minutes boot camp

45 minutes elliptical (40 min high intensity + 5 min cool down)

1 Comment

Filed under Blog Posts

One response to “Dark Chocolate Dreaminess

  1. Hope you’re feeling better today. I’m stubborn as well when it comes to cold and try to will them away. Often times, it works too. So, get in lots of vitamin C today and do get some rest if you’re still feeling bad.

    Dark Chocolate Dreams – one my true loves. You must try freezing a big blob. That’s my favorite way to eat it – a frozen chocolate PB cup. Yum!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

